My place in time / Observations & Photowalks

Streets of Maylands, 2014 & 2016.

When I started “My place in time” back in 2013, the prompts I had written encouraged me to get out to visit parts of Perth that I’d often passed through, but rarely explored.

Maylands was one of those places that save for the occasional coffee and cake (or Friday night folk club when I was a kid, in the building that now houses Dome), I rarely spent any time in. It was just somewhere on the way to somewhere else. Last year, Maylands became home, so I started to take a little more notice of what’s happening around my area.

The following photos are a comparison between a few spots near the Meltham train station. I thought it was interesting seeing the small changes between February 2014, and September 2016. I’ll be posting some other photos of the other side of the tracks, and Eighth ave a little later on.

 


The 7th Avenue bridge.

20140208-_DSC1719

8th February 2014

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016

See more photos of the old bridge here


Russ Gracie Auto Electrics.

This is now a vegetarian / vegan cafe called Plenty. I haven’t taken any up to date photos of it yet. Mainly because it’s always full of people, and I’m still a bit self conscious of photographing people who are simply trying to enjoy their brunch. Visiting is not worth the amount of whinging and ranting from my other half, who isn’t on good terms with the green food groups…

Personally, I like vegan food. Unfortunately, I have a strong aversion to the taste and smell of coconut, which rules out about 85% of it.

 


Anyway…. where were we? Ahh yes, February 2014.

20140208-_DSC1728
20140208-_DSC1724
20140208-_DSC1725


Dome Maylands.


This building was built around 110 years ago, and is a pretty impressive and iconic piece of the Maylands landscape. It was known as the Peninsula Hotel, and was originally a saloon.

When I was a kid, this was a multi-use community space. I think that the upstairs rooms were a private residence (I remember an impressive staircase which I think is now behind a locked door), and the downstairs part that’s now the main foyer of the cafe, was a pretty basic community hall. The saloon doors were still in place, with the glass etching and signs still around the place. Around the age of 10, this is where my family would go to folk club on a Friday night. All the kids would grab these huge dusty old floor cushions and pile them up all over the place, lounging across them, and dozing off to old ballads sung by Irish and Scottish ladies and gents. One man, I think his name was Rosco, would always recite a poem. I remember one about how you should visit Elsewhere, because it’s always fine in Elsewhere. The other highlights of folk club was the interval, where it was raisin toast, and Nescafe bar hot chocolate.

Oh we used to kick up such a stink about being dragged out to boring old folk club, but to this day I can’t smell raisin toast without thinking of that place.

 

20140208-_DSC1691-2

8th February 2014.

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd February 2016.

 


The old Ross’ Salvage auction yard site.

I took a heap of photos of this site around the time of its demolition. You can see them here. Oh dear God did this site stink to high heaven once they started demolition. Decades of I don’t want to know what lurking in the walls, suddenly seeing the light of day.
It’s a shame to have lost some of those old sawtooth sheds and deco facades, but the new flats don’t look half bad.

20140208-_DSC1672

8th February 2014.

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

 


Dubrovnik Butchers, and the railway bridge.

Dubrovnik were in business for over 40 years, but because I didn’t spend much time around this area, I only visited once. Sometimes you just really need a cheese sausage.

I took the first lot of photos about a month after the shut their doors in 2014. The building has changed a bit in the last two and a half years. The sausage sculpture and signage has gone. It would be cool to see it pop up again somewhere, but it probably takes pride of place in a family member’s yard now.

20140208-_DSC1764

8th February 2014.

20140208-_DSC1745

8th February 2014.

20140208-_DSC1742

8th February 2014.

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

For some reason that I can’t remember, I also decided to capture some of the older style houses around the railway bridge that links Whatley Crescent to the intersection with Grand Prom. Which was an interesting decision, given that some of those houses have since been renovated and look completely different!

20140208-_DSC1761

8th February 2014.

20140208-_DSC1746

8th February 2014.

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

Last, but not least, I thought I’d share some photos looking along the railway tracks towards our city skyline. The main difference to me is that the logo has changed on the old Bondi’s tower at 108 St Georges Tce (the old Bankwest/R&I bank building that’s triangle shaped). It has changed to South 32 or something and it just doesn’t look quite right now.
I think the differences in the overall landscape are quite interesting.

20140208-_DSC1749

8th February 2014.

20140208-_DSC1750

8th February 2014.

20140208-_DSC1762

8th February 2014.

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.

© Kell Jeater 2016

3rd September 2016.


I hope that (dirty lens/sensor aside) you enjoyed looking at those photos. I think it’s so interesting to compare the little changes from year to year. Our landscape is constantly changing, and I think it’s important to document the little things, because those everyday landmarks you take for granted can change in the blink of an eye.

If you have enjoyed exploring Perth’s suburbs with me, you may enjoy taking a look through the images I’ve shot for the “My place in time” project.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

