Observations & Photowalks / Street & candid

Stolen moments – Snapshots of QVB

It’s been a long while between posts, but I can assure you I’ve been busy behind the camera at every opportunity I get.

In early May, I was very lucky to be treated to a holiday in Sydney. It had been 9 years since my last visit (who said it was okay for 2007 to be so long ago?!) so there was lots for me to explore, and I was very taken with the architecture. We just don’t have the luxury of so many beautiful old buildings in Perth, the best of them have been ripped down over the past 4-5 decades.

Unfortunately time restraints stopped me getting out to capture so many of the beautiful deco buildings I discovered around Potts Point and Elizabeth Bay, hopefully I will get to them next time, but I was fortunate to get into the CBD around lunchtime on a Tuesday which allowed me to grab some great stolen moments.

Shooting street photos in Sydney, compared to Perth, was a little tough. Perth is naturally brighter. Being May, Sydney was a little overcast at times, and so many tall buildings meant that some entire streets were in shadow were large parts of the day. I can only imagine how dark it must get in major cities like New York and London! The bonus of Sydney being such a bustling city, was there was a lot going on, lots of people moving around, who for the most part were completely oblivious, or simply didn’t care for another tourist with a camera. The result was that I could practice some busy street scenes I would never get at home.

One of the jewels of Sydney city is the Queen Victoria Building. I didn’t get to spend much time exploring it on this visit, but that’s okay as I’ve been plenty of times before. I thought I’d take advantage of the low light capabilities of my new camera and shoot some scenes inside the building, as well as out on the street with the beautiful ornate carvings on show.

I hope you enjoy these stolen moments!


Tuesday 3 May 2016
11:35am

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

© Kell Jeater 2016


Tuesday 3 May 2016
11:36am

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

© Kell Jeater 2016


Tuesday 3 May 2016
11:36am

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

© Kell Jeater 2016.


Tuesday 3 May 2016
11:37am

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

© Kell Jeater 2016.


Tuesday 3 May 2016
11:39am

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

© Kell Jeater 2016.


Tuesday 3 May 2016
11:41am

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

© Kell Jeater 2016.


Tuesday 3 May 2016
11:42am

 

© Kell Jeater 2016

© Kell Jeater 2016.


See another stolen moment here.
Visit me on Facebook.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Stolen moments – Snapshots of QVB

  1. Pingback: Stolen Moments – Ten minutes in Adelaide. | Blackcurrant Photography

Leave a Reply

