Journal / My place in time

2014 in review – some of my favourite photographs.

So, here we are in 2015. I apologise for being a little quiet lately. It feels like there has been no real down time since November thanks to a heap of social gatherings and outings (all of which I am very grateful for).

I decided that I won’t write a long and rambling post of all the ups and downs of 2014. I have documented my year fairly well both here and on Instagram. In all, it was a pretty good year, though I was struck down with illness for a huge chunk of it. Fighting through that though, I had a lot of outings and took a heap of photos and was fairly cheerful. I’m hoping that 2015 continues in a positive way with new and exciting adventures and rewarding friendships.

For most of the year I have been marking the everyday with pictures on my Instagram account. I have every intention of sharing some of those favourites here, but for now I would like to share some of my favourite ‘proper’ photos from 2014. These are photos taken with my DLSR and some are from the My place in time project.

Throughout 2014 I have also added a fair amount of new wildflower and landscape photography to my Redbubble folio. These images are available to purchase on a wide range of products.

I hope you enjoy the pictures! If you click the photo it should take you to the relevant post.
If you read to the end you will see the 2014 stats report from WordPress. 

 


 Leederville’s Luna Cinema.

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.


 Trinity Church on St George’s Terrace.

Trinity Church, Saturday 16 August 2014. 1:33:39pm

Trinity Church, Saturday 16 August 2014. 1:33:39pm


 A wattle tree in the grounds of Hayshed Hill winery in Wilyabrup.

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au


A road leading to the coast around Cowaramup/Wilyabrup in the Margaret River region.

My place in time #49 - I had to stop the car and take a photo.

My place in time #49 – I had to stop the car and take a photo.


 My friend Nina’s wedding. 

This post gave me one of my busiest days on WordPress. Because Nina’s awesome like that.

© Kell Rowe 2014

© Kell Rowe 2014


 The sunset on our first night down in Yallingup.

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.


 Stormy skies over Perth City.

Mary street.

Mary street.


A beautiful building on Howard street in Perth City. 

© Kell Rowe 2014

© Kell Rowe 2014


Singer/songwriter and amazing guitarist, Darren Middleton (ex Powderfinger) at the final show of his first solo tour. 

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.


 

Pancakes from Sapore Espresso Bar.

© Kell Rowe 2014

© Kell Rowe 2014


Taking in the majesty of the Karri forest down at Boranup.

To give you some scale, Jason is 6’4″ tall.

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au


Looking towards the city from Highgate.

View along Cavendish street. I love these flats/townhouses.

View along Cavendish street. I love these flats/townhouses.

Inspired by the photographs of New York MOMA exhibition that came to town in 2013, I started taking my photographs with really high apertures, to get as much detail as possible.


Skateboarders down at The Woolstores in Fremantle.

My place in time #3 - Teenage Wasteland

My place in time #3 – Teenage Wasteland


 

These are all nature photos that have found their way into my Redbubble and Etsy folios.

 

tp,875x875,ffffff,f.6u3

Injidup

Heart leaf Flame Pea.

Heart leaf Flame Pea.

 

 


 

Some of these photos were taken as part of the My place in time project. I started this photo documentary project in May 2013, as a way to encourage myself and other people around the world to take an interest in recording the everyday scenes of their local area, and to print the photos. Whilst I only set 100 prompts I have taken hundreds of photos of Perth’s suburbs during the past 18 months. It’s become so very important of me to record as much as possible, especially given how quickly Perth changes. Many of the buildings I have photographed in the past year have since been demolished or closed to the public.

You can see the progress of the project here.

These images have been edited for my blog and are watermarked. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by over-sharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it. You can purchase high quality prints of (some of) these images if you’d like to display them, just email me for details. Please get in touch via the contact me page.

facebookfan www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2014 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

A New York City subway train holds 1,200 people. This blog was viewed about 6,200 times in 2014. If it were a NYC subway train, it would take about 5 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

 

Thanks for reading! – Kell

Leave a Reply

