Candid & Photojournalistic / Events / Journal

Nina and Ricky got married.

© Kell Rowe 2014

This weekend was a really special one for me, because Nina, one of my oldest / craziest / funnest / knows far too muchest friends finally tied the knot. It was a long time coming; she and Ricky have been together for a few months longer than Jason and I have (geez 2002 was a good year for hooking up!) and they have two beautiful sons together. Along the way they’ve collected a heap of awesome friends and family members, which all contributed to a really great day.

I’ve known Nina since we were about 15, catching the bus home from high school. She was a year below me, and in my brother’s class but we met on the afternoon bus. She’s nuts, so afternoons were always fun. By the time I was in year 12 I was spending lunch times hanging out with a huge crew of my brother’s year 11 mates. They just understood me better!

© Kell Rowe 2014

© Kell Rowe 2014

Nina and I bonded over lots of things, but mainly Rocky Horror and art. Nina modeled a lot for me back in high school and TAFE, and I wouldn’t have been able to put my admission portfolio together without her help. We’ve stayed friends now for almost 18 years and I just can’t imagine life without her. We always have fun.

© Kell Rowe 2014
© Kell Rowe 2014

What I loved so much about Saturday’s wedding was that it was so personal, funny, intimate, and laid back.

It was an old fashioned family wedding which took place in their Nanna’s award winning garden. The photographer was another old school friend, Lauren. The jaw dropping muscle cars belong to a friend of the bride’s Dad, the guest list had a good chunk of our batshit crazy high school friends (whom I got to dance with all night to the old Kalamunda Rollerama playlists) and there were no over the top speeches. It was just loads and loads of fun, with a great reception at the local country club which had been decked out in gorgeous paper lanterns, pretty lime ribbon and tulle. The bride made her own amazingly decadent chocolate cake. I got to stuff myself full of roast beef and Bundaburg ginger beer, and there were loads of different desserts. We even got pop rocks as favours!

© Kell Rowe 2014

My favourite parts of the night were dancing the Time Warp with the bride and a bunch of old mates, and hanging out with old school buddies Krystal and Kym, and getting to know Kym’s partner James. Oh wait, we have to add the official wedding song to that list of favourites… It almost beats ours. Almost.

Speaking of us, here we are. Jason and I are celebrating our 6th wedding anniversary on Friday 31st, so it’s going to be a great week all round.

© Kell Rowe 2014

Congratulations Nina and Ricky. I’m so glad you made it, and it was an absolute blast and an honour to celebrate your special day with you. I hope you like these photos I took (and that they aren’t too dark on your screen). *Mwah*

 


If you pop over to my Instagram account you can enjoy a few of the snapshots I took during the day. You don’t need to have the Instagram app to view the photos.

thanksforreading

These images have been edited for my blog. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by over-sharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it.  If you’d like to display them, please get in touch via the contact me page.

All images are the intellectual property of Mrs Kelly Rowe and are not to be used or altered without written permission (unless you’re the bride and groom). Enjoy!

 

Please click a thumbnail to load. No thumbnail? Oops. Please let me know… it should work on a PC!

 

 


Leave a Reply

