Journal / Observations & Photowalks

Golden wattle at Hayshed Hill.

Hayshed Hill looks dramatic in black and white.
Hayshed Hill looks dramatic in black and white.

 

I’m taking a little break from the My place in time project to share some photos from our recent trip to the south west.

On Wednesday 13th August we headed out from our Airbnb property in Metricup to visit nearby Hayshed Hill, home of both hayshed Hill and Pitchfork wines. I don’t drink any more, so I was drawn in by the beautiful food which I’d seen endorsed online by some rather well known foodies. Hayshed had been closed for a couple of weeks, and the day we visited was their first day open again post renovations. i think we may have been their first customers!

We had such a lovely experience. The cafe was empty save for us so it felt like our own private space. The coffee was Fiori, the same we drink at our local cafe, so they got brownie points from the start. Before we visited I’d been in contact with a lady called Rachael to get a copy of the menu. I casually mentioned that I wasn’t really into a savoury breakfast as I didn’t eat eggs. She wasn’t sure what the new menu would look like so it was just a surprise on the day. I looked at the (very lovely and adventurous) menu but as I was feeling under the weather and a bit iffy, I decided to settle for toast. After greeting us personally, Rachael then went over to talk to the chef, who happily agreed to make me some pancakes.

Wow, what pancakes!

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au
There was berry compote and beautifully light cream spiked with vanilla bean. It was so lovely! I just wish there had been a couple more of the pancakes. It was so nice to watch the chef preparing the food. He really seemed to be enjoying himself and being artistic. Jason’s dish looked fantastic. I don’t have a photo because he demolished it pretty quickly.

After breakfast, we took some time to explore the grounds. The sky was pretty flat and grey, but the grounds were full of bright and happy wattle trees. I have never seen anything quite so glorious up in the city.
© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014

 

We had such a positive experience at Hayshed Hill. After breakfast we went for a drive to the coast where we explored Gracetown. Stay tuned for those photos, and have a look through some of my most recent blog posts for more pictures from our south west trip.

If you love those beautiful wattle trees as much as I do, you’re in luck. I photograph a lot of wattle, and you can easily purchase my photographs on a range of products including tote bags, phone cases, and of course art for your wall. Check out my range in my Redbubble shop.

 

http://blackcurrant.redbubble.com
http://blackcurrant.redbubble.com

If you pop over to my Instagram account you can enjoy a few of the snapshots and videos I took during our trip. You don’t need to have the Instagram app to view the photos.

thanksforreading

These images have been edited for my blog and are watermarked. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by over-sharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it. You can purchase high quality prints or wall posters of (some of) these images if you’d like to display them, just email me for details. Please get in touch via the contact me page.

All images are the intellectual property of Mrs Kelly Rowe and are not to be used or altered without written permission directly from the artist.

 

Leave a Reply

