Journal / nature

A south west sunset.

Welcome back! I know it’s been a long time between blog posts.

Back in August, Jason and I took a trip ‘down south’. Every Western Australian has a different idea of what ‘down south’ entails, but for me, it’s anywhere south of Busselton, along the west coast and almost always within the Geographe Bay and Margaret River regions. Yallingup means ‘place of love’ and is very special to us as we were married in the area.

If you follow me on Instagram you’ll know that I was unfortunately very ill during our trip, so I didn’t get to do anywhere near as much photography as I’d hoped to do, and I didn’t get to traipse around in the forest looking for wild orchids. However, I did spend a fair amount of time by the ocean – I gravitate there when I’m unwell as I find it incredibly soothing.

 

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.

 

Whilst on holiday, I tried my hand at some landscape photography. It’s never been one of my strong points, and I envy people that can nail a great image. I know all the technical components that make up a great landscape photo, it’s just that I can’t see and interpret the scene in the same way a dedicated landscape photographer can.

Anyway, I took the challenge to test myself, and to try and grasp some new (to me) editing techniques to bring out the lovely skies and water.

All of these photos were taken on the evening of Sunday August 10th, 2014 around Yallingup reef. I’ve tried to make them as close as possible to how I remember the scene.

Enjoy!


 

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.

 

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.

 

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.

 

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.

 

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.

 

© Kell Rowe 2014.

© Kell Rowe 2014.

 

© Kell Rowe 2014

© Kell Rowe 2014

 

© Kell Rowe 2014

© Kell Rowe 2014

 


If you pop over to my Instagram account you can enjoy a few of the snapshots and videos I took during our trip. You don’t need to have the Instagram app to view the photos.

thanksforreading

These images have been edited for my blog and are watermarked. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by over-sharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it. You can purchase high quality prints or wall posters of (some of) these images if you’d like to display them, just email me for details. Please get in touch via the contact me page.
All images are the intellectual property of Mrs Kelly Rowe and are not to be used or altered without written permission directly from the artist.

 

Leave a Reply

