My place in time / Observations & Photowalks / Street & candid

My place in time – Roadwork (7th Avenue bridge).

This is my place in time.

The “My place in time” photo project met a huge milestone this week, it turned one! When I started it back in May 2013 I didn’t think I’d still be going with it now, but I’m glad I am. I have taken hundreds of photos of Perth over the last year. There’s far more waiting in the wings than have made it to the blog so far. I’ve discovered new places, and I’ve recorded the demise of some pieces of my life that whilst small, will be missed.

Demolition of buildings and structures always hits me hard, I think in part due to the person that bought my family home about 10 years ago deciding to demolish it and rebuild on the land. For all the people that tell me that at least I have my memories, I just don’t think it’s something I’m ever going to get over. Every time I see an old house ripped down, it opens the scab again. I know that somewhere out there, somebody that lived and loved in that home is hurting a little.

The Seventh Avenue traffic bridge, and its brother on Third Avenue in Maylands, is coming down this weekend. The structures are over 100 years old and simply can’t cope with the amount of traffic that crosses them these days. It’s one of the few structures that I am wistful about, but not overly sad. I understand that they are unsafe and that it would be devastating if a serious accident were to occur due to that. Not only do they carry traffic, they carry it over electrified train lines.

I know that many locals want them to stay. I understand that too. They look charming, and people would have memories of them from growing up, probably getting up to all sorts of mischief as the trains passed underneath. The residents along the railway are losing part of their neighbourhood and gardens…as well as having to deal with the daunting prospect of a year’s worth of construction going on next door. I feel for them!

Back in February, I was alerted to the news that the bridges were being removed. These photos span two dates, Februay 8th 2014, and May 28th, 2014. The bridges are due for destruction over the weekend 31st May.

Fare-thee-well bridges. Thank you for being so interesting! I passed under you many times on train trips throughout my childhood and early working life. I hope your beams are recycled, repurposed, and loved for many more years.


 #75 – Roadwork

My place in time #75 - Roadwork

My place in time #75 – Roadwork

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au


These photographs were taken as part of the “My place in time” challenge. You can find out more about the challenge here.

thanksforreading

These images have been edited for my blog and are watermarked. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by over-sharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it. You can purchase high quality prints of (some of) these images if you’d like to display them, just email me for details. Please get in touch via the contact me page.

One thought on “My place in time – Roadwork (7th Avenue bridge).

  1. Pingback: Streets of Maylands, 2014 & 2016. | Blackcurrant Photography

Leave a Reply

