Architectural / My place in time / Observations & Photowalks

My place in time – Somewhere I visited with my first love.

This is my place in time.

 

I’m thinking a little bit out of the box here. Many of the places that I visited with boyfriends past are now either gone forever, or vastly different. There’s also the fact that ‘first love’ is a little ambiguous. If it’s Matthew (the first boy I kissed), ugh, I’d be happy to condemn that memory to the deepest depths of my past as it was not in the slightest bit sweet or pleasant. If it’s Nick K, the first boy I really liked and actually enjoyed kissing, then I have lovely memories of a trip to Coles Fossey (now Target Perth City) where we bought picnic supplies and then went on a romantic date to the zoo. Or would it be a different Nic, the first proper boyfriend I had who I still think of on rainy days? We went out for a whole school term. Or Tom, my first serious long term relationship boyfriend? We lived together for a while when I first left home 14 years ago.

Or is my first love none of those people at all, and is Jason,  the man who became my best friend and husband? In which case, you have seen many, many places I have visited with him.

So perhaps I step away from the notion that my first love is another human being. My first love was and always will be art, and in particular, photography. I would be heartbroken if the ability to record photographs was ever taken from me. It’s something I do every single day and is a huge part of who I am.

Somewhere I visited with my first love is Mount Lawley TAFE. This is where I studied, back in 1999 and 2000, and gained my Certificate IV of Photography. I was turning 18, which is an incredibly exciting time. I had a little group of friends at college, and some of the happiest (and also most frustrating) days of my life were spent in these rooms, learning my craft.

 


#54 – Somewhere I visited with my first love

This first building was where I spent a big chunk of my time during 1999 and 2000 when I was first studying photography at a tertiary level. The room at the bottom right is the former Mount Lawley TAFE darkroom (hence the big exhaust pipe thing).

My place in time #54 - Somewhere I visited with my first love.

My place in time #54 – Somewhere I visited with my first love.

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 


#15 – People playing sport.

Next door to the TAFE is a bowling green (I think) which doubles up as a place to play some other sports. Shame I wasn’t a beer drinker back in college. It’s a well known fact that bowling clubs have ridiculously cheap booze.
The people in these photos are playing croquet.

 

My place in time #15 - People playing sport

My place in time #15 – People playing sport

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au


 

#28 – The receipt for something I bought today.

Mmm German wieners! 🙂

My place in time #28 - The receipt for something I bought today.

My place in time #28 – The receipt for something I bought today.

 


 

These photographs were taken as part of the “My place in time” challenge. You can find out more about the challenge here.

thanksforreading

These images have been edited for my blog and are watermarked. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by over-sharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it. You can purchase high quality prints of these if you’d like to display them, just email me for details. Please get in touch via the contact me page.

 

Leave a Reply

