Architectural / Street & candid

A peek at Pier street.

Whilst I haven’t blogged for a while, I have hundreds of photos of Perth waiting in the wings for a chance to be edited and shared. The “My place in time” project will be a year old next month and I’m still hard at work with it, though my focus has shifted slightly to recording the places, signs, and buildings that are important to me and which I fear may disappear in the not to distant future. It has actually become a nagging fear, and a compulsion to record these places. If not me, then who will? The fear stems from the lingering thought that I might be the only person that thinks to take a picture… and if I don’t, am I condemning that building/place/sign/memory/flower/moment in time to be lost forever?

Clearly, I think too much.

Recently I was in the city meeting a new friend, Ebony of Adventures of Ebony. Whilst we were out, I spotted the Lord Mayor of Perth, Lisa Scaffidi. I wanted to share my project with her but I was feeling far too shy. Ebony gave me a nudge and I did speak to the Lord Mayor, who thanked me for taking the time to take my photographs. She said there should be more people like me. That was a little uplifting, I must say, as I often think I’m alone in caring about the constant march of time.

On February 22nd, 2014, I took a little walk around the city with my camera. The photos below were taken along Pier street in Perth’s CBD. I’m afraid that I don’t have much information about the buildings pictured. I was happy to see Dada is still open. I have a vague recollection of visiting there with some boyfriends and school friends…. must have been about 17 years ago now. I really must get myself a record player and start frequenting places like this again.

 


© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

© Kell Rowe 2014. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 


thanksforreading

These images have been edited for my blog and are watermarked. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by over-sharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it. You can purchase high quality prints of these if you’d like to display them, just email me for details.

Leave a Reply

