My place in time / nature / Observations & Photowalks

My place in time – A photo from the coast.

This is my place in time.

Our friends Jay and Charlie live a little under an hour away, down on the coast near Warnbro Sound and Safety Bay. Charlie is also a keen photographer and often shares pictures from his trips to the beach and of the lovely little things he finds in the sand. I really liked his pics from Tern Island and I wanted to go looking for starfish.

We used to live down this way ourselves (unfortunately it was long before we met our friends) and I used to like exploring the rockpools around Point Peron. I hadn’t been to Tern Island before so today we took the opportunity whilst visiting family members in the area.

Tern Island isn’t an island, it’s more like a big sandbar. Terns are cute little white birds with black heads. There’s something quite comical about them, and I don’t think a caricature of them would look altogether out of place in a Garfield or Snoopy strip. Jason spotted some teeny, tiny baby birds whilst we were there, but I didn’t have a zoom lens with me so sadly couldn’t take a photo without disturbing them.

Walking along the spit at Tern Island near Safety Bay. 2/2/14 #perth #beach #bay #safetybay #ternisland

A post shared by Kell (@8th_wednesday) on

Seaweedy stuff floating in the water around Safety Bay. #perth #seaside #ocean #rockingham

A post shared by Kell (@8th_wednesday) on

It was a nice little walk around and I enjoyed looking at the bird life. I’m looking forward to returning again to hunt for starfish, as I found lots of other lovely shells to add to my found objects collection.

If you’d like to see more photos from Tern Island, you can see Charlie’s post here.


#69 – A photo from the coast

© Kell Rowe 2014  www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

My place in time #69 – A photo from the coast.

© Kell Rowe 2014  www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014  www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014  www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014  www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014  www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014  www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014  www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2014  www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au


thanksforreading

These photographs were taken as part of the “My place in time” challenge. You can find out more about the challenge here.

All my website/blog photographs are © Kell Rowe 2014 and may not be reused or published without written permission from me.

These images have been optimised for my blog and are watermarked. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by oversharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it.
My prints are very affordable, and high quality so they will last you a lifetime (if properly cared for).

Love it? Please click one of the social media buttons below and let your friends know about this post!

Leave a Reply

