Items for sale / Journal / Observations & Photowalks / Photo gifts on Etsy / Street & candid

Photowalk – Perth Hay street and West End 29/9/2013

Happy New Year, and thank you for following my blog and the “My place in time” project during 2013.

The project is still underway, though is taking a little time to share images due to the sheer volume of photos I’ve taken since I started in May.

The photos below were taken on a drizzly, rainy day at the end of September 2013. I think that it was the day after the Fremantle Dockers played their first AFL Grand Final game. I had gone into the city to take some images of the Piccadilly Cinema, and also took the opportunity to take some street scene photos full of reflections and umbrellas.

I went into the city today and so much has changed again in just 3 short months. It’s constantly evolving – sometimes in exciting new ways, but sometimes through the destruction or closure of places I’ve known for years. It’s so important to keep documenting the little things, because you never know how long they will be around for.

These pictures have been resized and optimised for web viewing so have lost a little detail. If like me, you love searching around within an image and exploring all the signs and tiny details, why not look into buying a print to keep for the future?  A selection of 5×7″ matted prints is available in my Etsy shop, with other prints available on request.

Enjoy.
Kell =)


Hay Street Mall.

Hay Street Mall.

William street end of the Hay Street Mall in Perth. Fitch’s Chemist was always the go-to spot in my teens for stage makeup and dye. I have so many memories tied in with time spent on this strip of road, I only wish I’d thought to photograph it more over the last 20-25 years.
This view is looking west along Hay Street.

His Majesty's Theatre.

His Majesty’s Theatre.

This is a view of the restored facade of His Majesty’s Theatre in Hay Street. I adore this beautiful theatre and hope that I may one day get to take some portraits inside. I’ve seen so many wonderful shows here over the years (including The Royal Shakesphere Company performing A Midsummer Night’s Dream when I was 15) and met some fabulous people such as Jon English and Mark Trevorrow. It really is a very special place.

Hay Street & William St looking towards Hay Street Mall.

Hay Street & William St looking towards Hay Street Mall.

This is the intersection of Hay street and William street. I think it’s really interesting to look at photographs of this area over the years and to see how much it changes. This is a photo worth exploring at a larger size as there is a lot of detail in the signs. I notice that in this scene the former Solid Gold showroom on the right (above Glennan Arcade) is for lease, and the showroom has moved to the left side of the mall.
I’m not quite sure of the history of the old building at the left. It must have always been there, but I’d really not paid much attention to it before I started looking up and taking photos.

Cnr Hay and William Streets.

Cnr Hay and William Streets.

Murray Street and Cnr of King Street.

Murray Street and Cnr of King Street.

Considered to be the posher end of the city, this picture was taken near King Street. I like the stickers on the pedestrian crossing sign, and the fact there is an actual car in the picture. I’m so tired of seeing 4WDs and SUVs everywhere! They might be practical for people, but they sure do many for boring imagery! One of my favourite things about old photographs is looking at the old cars in them.

Corner of King and Murray Street looking towards Northbridge.

Corner of King and Murray Street looking towards Northbridge.

West End.

West End.

Near Carnegies, Murray Street.

Near Carnegies, Murray Street.

Carnegies on Murray Street.

Carnegies on Murray Street.

20130929-_DSC9781sml

Carnegies on Murray Street.


P.S. Did you know that my photos are now available printed into durable polymer cases for both Samsung galaxy S3 and S4, as well as Uncommon brand iPhone cases? Take a look at the range at http://blackcurrant.redbubble.com

Samsung Galaxy S3 tough case.

Samsung Galaxy S3 tough case.

Leave a Reply

