Journal / Observations & Photowalks / Street & candid

Photowalk Fremantle 25/09/2013 – Part 1.

Having acquired a bit of a backlog of photos to edit and blog, I asked my Twitter followers what they’d like to see next on the blog. My friend Jamieanne said that she’d like to see some more photos of Fremantle. That’s an easy enough request to fill, as I have a few hundred Fremantle photos waiting in the wings!

These images were taken on Wednesday September 25th, 2013. Jason and I were in Fremantle to celebrate 11 years together. On this same day and date in 2002, we went out for dinner at Pizza Bella Roma, and later shared our first kiss.

Here are a series of photographs from along South Terrace. Being a few days before the Fremantle Dockers played in their first ever AFL Grand Final, there are a few signs about on the buildings.


Sign on The Esplanade, indicating the Cappuccino Strip (South Tce).

Sign on The Esplanade, indicating the Cappuccino Strip (South Tce).

Cnr Nairn and Market Streets.

Cnr Nairn and Market Streets.

Street activity on Nairn St.

Street activity on Nairn St.

Back wall of Ginos.

Back wall of Ginos.

My family spent a lot of time in Fremantle when I was growing up, and I think my dad would have moved us there is he’d had his way. Freo used to be about a 45 minute train ride from our home in West Midland and whilst that sounds like a long and boring journey to me now, we quite enjoyed it as kids and young teenagers. We spent a fair bit of time around Fremantle’s West End (which I will blog in another post), and especially at the markets and on the Cappuccino Strip.

Quite some time ago (at least 10 years I think but probably longer), Gino’s on the corner of South Terrace and Market Street was actually a much smaller cafe, and existed in the little space to the far left (on Google maps this is called “next door”). When I was growing up, the main building on the corner was called “Papa Giuseppes” and later “Old Papa’s”. I spent so much time in that cafe drinking cappuccinos that I’m surprised my pre-teen blood didn’t turn to coffee.

Gino's cafe, South Tce.

Gino’s cafe, South Tce.

South Tce, looking south east towards the markets.

South Tce, looking south east towards the markets.

South Tce, looking south-east towards the markets.

South Tce, looking south-east towards the markets.

Chocolateria San Churro.

Chocolateria San Churro.

Newport Hotel.

Newport Hotel.

Newport Hotel.

Newport Hotel.

Market street, looking north-west towards the train station.

Market street, looking north-west towards the train station.

Market street joins South Tce on this bend.

Market street joins South Tce on this bend.

Cnr High street and Market street, looking towards the Round House.

Cnr High street and Market street, looking towards the Round House.

Recently, when I was trying to explain the My place in time project to a stranger, they were having trouble understanding why I was taking the images and why anyone else would get involved given there was no prize for doing so. The reward I personally get from undertaking this project is knowing that I am contributing to the history of my state. Earlier this year, people flocked to the art gallery to see similar photographs of New York city taken over many years.

Whilst Perth may not appeal to some on the same scale, the things we look for in images are the same: we want to reminisce, we want to connect, and we all enjoy getting a little insight into how others live/lived their lives. Many years ago, Western Australia had an official state photographer, capturing images for the archives. I don’t think this position still exists so it is up to us to take a step away from the selfies and digital display for a minute, and do our part to present a record for the generations to come.

I hope you enjoyed these photos from the main touristy strip area of Fremantle. Stay tuned for more photos around West End and South Fremantle. You can see Freo photos already blogged here:

Writing without pay
George Street
South Fremantle
Leighton Beach
The Bad Piper

thanksforreading
P.S. Are you still in love with snail mail? If you hang out for sending Christmas and holiday cards to friends and family, please take a look at my print to order fine art photo cards here. The more you add to your cart, the more they are discounted.

Leave a Reply

