Events / Food / Handmade / Items for sale / My place in time

My place in time – To market, to market.

This is my place in time.

It’s been a rather eventful weekend for Blackcurrant Photography. After three years of developing the business, and 2 and a half years of developing my photo jewellery, I finally packed up my stock and took it out to the people.

The odds were against me, not only was there a Federal election called for the day of the first market, then on the morning of the show, after a beautifully sunny Friday, the sky was dark and ominous. A thunderstorm hit around 4am and stuck around in various incarnations until about 10am. Unpacking during lightning strikes wasn’t in the least bit fun! Nor was the hickory (?) smoke blowing about from the spit roast, which I found a little overpowering at times. 

Still, overall  it was a good experience, I made some sales,  and I loved the opportunity to get my work out in front of people that might not otherwise get to see it. I learnt a lot about which of my products work and which don’t, as well as some better ideas on how to present my display. I am so fortunate to have a minimum of another 3 weeks at the markets to show my hard work to others, and hopefully meet a substantial amount of my online followers.


A small selection of my market stock is below. I also took matted prints, and samples of my high end decor pieces such as acrylic iceblocks.

Left: Geraldton wax Right: White boronia

Left: Geraldton wax
Right: White boronia

Metal bezel photo pendants - $25

Metal bezel photo pendants – $25

The red dahlia is one of my most popular images.

The red dahlia is one of my most popular images.

Left: Gum flower blossom Middle: Blue wren Right: Everlasting

Left: Gum flower blossom
Middle: Blue wren
Right: Everlasting

Maple backed photo pendants. On sale at Mondo's $45 each

Maple backed photo pendants. On sale at Mondo’s $45 each

Left: Pink fairy orchid Right: Geraldton wax

Left: Pink fairy orchid
Right: Geraldton wax

 


Today (Sunday), was the Perth Upmarket. I’ve been a few times before and love the beautiful gourmet food on offer. I always head straight to the gourmet pie stand for lunch! Perth Upmarket is very high end with artisans considered among the best market sellers in Perth. It’s definitely something to aspire to a few years down the track.

If you’ve read a few of these posts you’ll know that Cookie Dough Biscuits often crops up. It’s one of my favourite little cafes, all the way down in Freo (I’m up by the airport, so it’s a fair trek). Lisa makes delicious biscuits, my favourite being the Pearlicious. These contain dark chocolate, hazelnuts, and pear pieces.

Pearlicious cookies from Cookie Dough Biscuits.

Pearlicious cookies from Cookie Dough Biscuits.

Megan from Littlesweet Baking takes some of her cakes to Cookie Dough pretty much every day. I’d never met Megan before, but often chat on her Facebook page about her mouthwatering creations. Well I finally got to say hi in person today, and try some of her goodies. Oh my…

Littlesweet Baking at Perth Upmarket.

Littlesweet Baking at Perth Upmarket.

Littlesweet Baking at Perth Upmarket.

Littlesweet Baking at Perth Upmarket.

Littlesweet Baking at Perth Upmarket.

Littlesweet Baking at Perth Upmarket.

Megan from Littlesweet Baking.

Megan from Littlesweet Baking.

Goodies from Littlesweet Baking.

Goodies from Littlesweet Baking.

Cookies from Cookie Dough Biscuits, brownies, Gingerbread, and peanut butter salted caramel bars from Littlesweet Baking.

Cookies from Cookie Dough Biscuits, brownies, Gingerbread, and peanut butter salted caramel bars from Littlesweet Baking.

They got a little beaten up by me carrying them around, but still tasted fabulous.

They got a little beaten up by me carrying them around, but still tasted fabulous.

Gluten free raspberry brownie (front) and triple choc. From Littlesweet Baking.

Gluten free raspberry brownie (front) and triple choc. From Littlesweet Baking.

Triple chocolate brownie from Littlesweet Baking.

Triple chocolate brownie from Littlesweet Baking.

These were divine! Peanut butter and caramel bars. Excuse my fingerprints and crumbs, they were too good to keep my fingers off!

These were divine! Peanut butter and caramel bars. Excuse my fingerprints and crumbs, they were too good to keep my fingers off!

 


Jason and I ate lunch over by the reflection pool. When I was little, this was full of fish and certainly wasn’t a bright green colour. I assume they painted the pond at some point.

Me, aged about 9.

Me, aged about 9.

Anyway, there were two separate families of wood ducks, and a couple of normal childfree ducks that were probably just trying to enjoy a fuss free swim. Anyway, they were all very cute, so I took some photos. Luckily for me, this meant I could tick another photo off the “My place in time” list.


#70 – To market, to market.

My place in time #70 - To market.

My place in time #70 – To market.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au
© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au


Blackcurrant Photography will be back at the Mondo Spring Markets next Saturday the 14th September from 8am to 1pm, and will also be there on the 21st and 28th. Mondos is at the corner of Beaufort street and 6th Avenue in Inglewood. 

thanksforreading

If you are from one of the pictured businesses and are interested in using or printing the photographs I have taken, can I please ask that you do not take the images from this site, but instead email me. These images have been optimised for my blog and are watermarked. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by oversharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it. I’d much rather it went on your blog, website, or business cards. Whilst I like to be paid, for non-commissioned images that don’t need additional work; I can be bribed with good food, and appropriate credit. 😉

These photographs were taken as part of the “My place in time” challenge. You can find out more about the challenge here.

One thought on “My place in time – To market, to market.

  1. Pingback: This is my place in time. Local area history project. | Blackcurrant Photography

Leave a Reply

