Food / My place in time / Observations & Photowalks / Street & candid

My place in time – Fremantle.

This is my place in time.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Enjoying a Littlesweet Baking cupcake at Cookie Dough Biscuits’ cafe.

Jason and I are embracing our weekends by getting out and exploring some of the new places popping up around Perth and Fremantle. I find the Urban Walkabout guides to be particularly useful in finding ‘my sort of places’. For example, today I found an antique shop that I loved purely because it looked like someone had gone rummaging in my head for random memories and then threw it all in a room for me to explore. Fantastic!

I love all the small, independent, Western Australian businesses that have started up in the last 18 months. Passionate creators who have thrown their hearts into sharing what they love. Perth can be like a big country town, and the Etsy loving, Upmarket crowd is even more inter-connected.

I discovered Littlesweet Baking late last year when they catered for an Etsy seminar I attended with the Western Australian Etsy Street Team. Via Facebook, I then ending up discovering Cookie Dough Biscuits (which since my first visit in April has become one of my favourite places). Both Megan and Lisa are friends with the crew at Wild Bakery, so today we went to get lunch from Wild. I’d seen they make potato bread so I was sold on that. I don’t know why my Husband has it in his head that I’m going to share the loaf…

I’m a fine art and photo journalistic photographer, not a food blogger, so there isn’t an awful lot I can tell you about the food. I can tell you that suffering from CFS means I don’t make 45 minute car journeys for just anyone. I would make the trip two days in a row for all three of these businesses! My only complaint is that more Perth cafes need to have padded seats. The hard wooden ones just don’t work for people with bad backs and chronic illnesses. We would love to linger and buy more, but sometimes it just gets too painful….

Anyway…  at Wild, Jason had a beef pie and I had the nicest pasty I have eaten in my life. Followed by the most divine lime curd tart, topped with toffee. Oh boy…

Between visiting Cookie Dough and Wild Bakery, we had a walk around South Fremantle. I was like a little kid drinking in all the sights and taking photos. Fremantle has been one of my favourite places for all my life, but in the last 6 months I have never wanted to live down there as badly as I want to right now. Time to start buying Lotto tickets I think…

Anyway, back to the My place in time project.
Please note that gallery photographs seem to be somewhat compressed by WordPress, and therefore not quite as sharp as they should be. They look their best on a proper computer, not a mobile phone.


#4 A small business.

My place in time #4 - A small business

My place in time #4 – A small business

Wild Bakery, on Commercial Street, near the corner of South Terrace, in South Fremantle.

Wild Bakery - © Kell Rowe 2013

Wild Bakery – © Kell Rowe 2013

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Wild Bakery – © Kell Rowe 2013

Wild Bakery - © Kell Rowe 2013

Wild Bakery – © Kell Rowe 2013

Wild Bakery -  © Kell Rowe 2013

Wild Bakery – © Kell Rowe 2013

Wild Bakery -  © Kell Rowe 2013

Wild Bakery – © Kell Rowe 2013

 


#23 The price of a cup of coffee.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

My place in time #23 – The price of a cup of coffee.

You can sort of see the price here – $3 for takeaway coffees. Can’t say I ever remember paying $3 for a cup of coffee anywhere! This is Corner Bar, on South Terrace in South Fremantle. I really like these old shops with the deep blue tile borders. Corner serves coffee from a sweet little window. The jar of red gerberas caught my eye as I walked past.
I probably need to get a better photo than this, but it will do for now.


#85 Where I was at 11:11am.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

My place in time #85 – 11:11am

I’m cheating a little here. I took this photo at 11:48am, after the people who had been sitting at the table had left. We were in the cafe at 11:11am though, and I made the project rules, so I can bend the project rules.

Cookie Dough Biscuits is at 88 George Street in East Fremantle.

Cookie Dough Biscuits © Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Cookie Dough Biscuits © Kell Rowe 2013 http://www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I liked these light globes so much on my first visit, that I  asked where they were from and bought one of the big round ones for our bedroom.

Cookie Dough Biscuits © Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Cookie Dough Biscuits © Kell Rowe 2013 http://www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Littlesweet Baking cupcake - © Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Littlesweet Baking cupcake – © Kell Rowe 2013 http://www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 


#99 Someone I’ve just met

My place in time #99 - Someone I've just met.

My place in time #99 – Someone I’ve just met.

This lady works at Wild Bakery, where they kindly let me take some photos for my project. The staff were a little concerned at how empty the shelves were, but they shouldn’t be. It just shows how popular they are! This photo was taken around 1.30pm on a Saturday, so I think we can safely say that they are doing a roaring trade. We took our pies down to South Beach to eat them, but if the bakery had some tables and a coffee machine, I would have stuck around a while.

Jason and I shared one of these lime curd tarts. I kind of wish I’d had my own now!

Lime tart from Wild Bakery. © Kell Rowe 2013

Lime tart from Wild Bakery. © Kell Rowe 2013

 


thanksforreading

If you are from one of the pictured businesses and are interested in using or printing the photographs I have taken, can I please ask that you do not take the images from this site, but instead email me. These images have been optimised for my blog and are watermarked. Social media applications such as Facebook, can be particularly unkind to photographs by oversharpening them and reducing the quality. They also have some very ambiguous terms of use about who owns the photos. If you like my work, please do it justice and don’t steal it. I’d much rather it went on your blog, website, or business cards. Whilst I like to be paid, for non-commissioned images that don’t need additional work; I can be bribed with good food, and appropriate credit. 😉

These photographs were taken as part of the “My place in time” challenge. You can find out more about the challenge here.

2 thoughts on “My place in time – Fremantle.

  1. Pingback: Photowalk Fremantle 25/09/2013 – Part 1. | Blackcurrant Photography

  2. Pingback: This is my place in time. Local area history project. | Blackcurrant Photography

Leave a Reply

