My place in time / Observations & Photowalks

My place in time – Farewell Burswood Dome.

This is my place in time.

#19 – Something that was here 20 years ago.

My place in time #19. This was here 20 years ago.

My place in time #19. This was here 20 years ago.

This is The Dome, in the grounds of the Crown Perth complex. It is marked for demolition, with the space being dedicated to more parking bays. It was Perth’s  multi-purpose arena for most of the last 25 years and although it hosted a lot of concerts, it wasn’t particularly great in terms of acoustics (in my opinion, anyway).

It’s basically a large, cold, echo-y concrete room, with a pressurised ceiling. Now that it’s no longer in use, I’m just itching to see what happens when you open all the doors at once.

The last concert I saw at The Dome was Greenday in December 2010. It was a great concert. We had a good view, and the band played their hearts out for over two hours. It was one of the most enjoyable concerts I’ve ever been to, even if it wasn’t the most comfortable venue.

It’s certainly been an interesting piece of architecture and I’m going to miss it. Probably not as much as the defiant pigeons that call it home despite the various bird deterrents, but it does hold some little pieces of history and many memories for many Western Australians.

Farewell Burswood Dome!

I hope you don’t mind the photos. Landscapes with large expanses of sky are not my forte…hence all the nature shots for sale. 😉  Click the photos for a gallery view slideshow.


These photographs were taken as part of the “My place in time” challenge. You can find out more about the challenge here.

Would you like to buy a 6×4″ or 5×7″ print of one of these challenge photos? Please get in touch via the contact me page.

One thought on “My place in time – Farewell Burswood Dome.

  1. Pingback: This is my place in time. Local area history project. | Blackcurrant Photography

Leave a Reply

