Handmade / Items for sale / Journal / Mailing list / Photo gifts on Etsy / Photo gifts on Redbubble

New projects, new products, and a little update from me.

Hello lovely readers!

I thought I’d take a little break from the “My place in time” posts and let you know about some of the other things happening in my life, and some new products I’ve made.


June is a busy time, even for seasoned procrastinators like myself. June 30th is the end of the financial year in Australia so there are all sorts of fun (not fun) accounting, collating, and filing to do. This usually involves me plugging in about 6 months worth of receipts into Open Office (freeware version of Excel) and hoping that money in equals money out.

As well as running Blackcurrant, I also have a part time job for a few hours a day. It helps me pay enough bills to keep Blackcurrant ticking over, and gives me enough social interaction that I don’t turn into a full blown hermitty crazy cat lady. 95% of the time I love my job as it involves chatting to lovely people and most of the time I get to brighten their day by giving them money. This is a very busy time of year for my industry so I have had my role changed a little by kind colleagues that don’t want me to do this:

That’s the polite version. Basically, they don’t want me to throw everything in the air and storm out. Which is quite kind of them really! I love how much nicer home life has been since I started, not to mention all the great new materials and things I’ve been able to buy for Blackcurrant!


A few months ago, I found some great new suppliers in the US and the UK. This meant that I could experiment with some new photo jewellery designs, and also with pretty new packaging. I don’t keep a lot of glass in stock because the postage costs from the US are pretty steep. This means that if you do see something nice in my shop, it really is in your best interest to snap it up because I can’t guarantee if or when there will be a similar design.

My favourite jewellery items that I have in stock at the moment, are these ones:

White banksia 40mm glass wafer pendant.

Golden metallic wildflower pendant.

Geraldton wax in metallic blue, white, and yellow.

The 40mm banksia pendant is interesting due to the size and the crisp edges. Unlike the other two pendants, this one was made with glossy Fuji paper. Whilst it doesn’t capture the light and change colour like most of my other jewellery pieces, it really is a statement piece due to the size.

The metallic pendants are almost three-dimensional looking and never look the same from two different angles. The heart one is a gorgeous, shimmering golden colour and looks lovely on the high quality organza ribbons I have for sale. The Geraldton Wax pendant is quite tiny and delicate and works nicely with other silver jewellery.

With all of these pendants, I recommend wearing them against a dark coloured shirt for maximum impact and comfort. You’ll also find clip on earrings, brooches, and cufflinks in store at Etsy.

© Kell Rowe 2013
© Kell Rowe 2013


Do you have an iPhone, iPod, or iPad case? One of the places I sell my work is on a site called Redbubble. They have teamed with Apple preferred case maker Uncommon, to allow artists to have their work 3D printed into beautiful, shimmering, fade-proof cases. I don’t actually have an iPhone, but a lot of my friends do and they have been particularly enamored with the Dahlia design from my collection. So much so, that I sold five of them in the first 2 days of listing the design!
I have just added some new wildflower designs to the shop. Compared to other brands, you might find Uncommon cases are a little on the pricey side, but they are very high quality and come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee from Redbubble. I have kept the mark up as low as possible, taking only $14-15 of the cut on these. I just want you to enjoy them!

 


I’ve been getting nostalgic lately, and am loving looking at all the old photos of places that I remember from my childhood. It made me realise just how many favourite places and spaces and most importantly, everyday things that I have lost  purely because I didn’t think to take a photo at the time. Things like the corner deli with the old and dusty toys and electrical items that sat on shelves for years, still new in their packets. or the lollies that (in my memory) always tasted so much better when they were made by small Australian companies.

At the end of May, I started a photo challenge here on the blog, with the main rule being that the photos must be printed and kept for future generations. The project has seen me visiting places I haven’t been in many years, and some I’ve never been to. It’s putting me outside my comfort zone as I usually photograph portraits or nature, so it really is a challenge. I’m loving it though and feel very proud to think I may one day many years from now, be considered someone really important in terms of recording my city as it was.

Lemon lane, Claremont.

Lemon lane, Claremont.

You can view more about the project here.

If you have been following “My place in time” and would like to purchase any of the photographs, please email me at info[at]blackcurrantphotography.com.au


I’ve been looking at some other blogs and websites, and am really enjoying these ones:

Tractorgirl
74 Lime Lane
Sweetest Kitchen
Charlie’s World

I have also just joined Instagram. A bit late, I know, but I’m enjoying the escapism. I do a little too much on social media to do with my business, and I’m getting quite bored with Facebook so it’s nice to have one just for me. I plan to be pretty selective with who I follow though. If you post a lot of well composed travel pics, clouds, cats, flowers, and chocolate, you’re in. I’ve kind of had my fill of duck face poses, selfies, and babies.


Just a little shout out to my friend Danika, who is currently offering some of her original sketches for sale and auction. She has also set up a new website for her design work and would love to know if she can help you in any way.  You can also find her on Facebook.

Original artwork by Danika Lindsell.


Other things that have been going on with me:

I’m really excited because my Mum and my stepfather Bill have finally moved back to Perth after 8-10 years in the country. They are only about half an hour away now. It’s nice that I will finally be able to go see my Mum on demand, because sometimes, you really just need a Mummy hug (and a slab of homemade sticky date pudding).

I helped my brother organise all the paperwork for setting up his own business, and have been helping him with his invoicing. He has been working as a spray painter for many years, as well as doing up cars both for himself and for friends. It’s great to see the business take off and to see him so happy to finally be doing his own thing.

Jason has taken on another role at his job. One that finally has a title! He is now a stock controller. This is the official title after 9 years of “We don’t know what he does but the place goes to shit when he’s not here”. I’m very proud of him and hope he soon gets the monetary appreciation.

I got a little bored with the no dairy diet I started in January. I’m still kind of avoiding eggs and I don’t eat yoghurt, use butter or drink milk in my tea. So I have made some good changes in some areas. But I fell off the wagon in April with eating homemade cookies from Cookie Dough and have had a couple of visits to Koko Black. But could you pass up one of these raspberry chocolate dome things? I couldn’t.

I bought some everlasting seeds online from Lucinda’s Everlastings and am patiently waiting for them to grow. I also planted some rose geranium, spearmint, lemonbalm, and citronella geranium at Easter. I like the idea of a therapy scent garden.

Oh, and I’ve been drinking far too much tea. My current favourites are the Chamomile and Spearmint one from Twinings (good for stressful afternoons at work) and the Tummy Tea from T2 Tea.

I went to see Something for Kate a few days ago. I love almost everything that Paul Dempsey sings. He is incredibly talented. Right now I’m enjoying the karaoke he is singing backstage at gigs and posting to Youtube. He has also been on Rockwiz a bunch of times. I love his own song, “Bats”, as well as his covers of “Time to Pretend” and “Careless Whispers”. Whilst I haven’t met Paul, I went to one of his solo concerts on my birthday a few years ago and the sound engineer got me a signed setlist.

So, you can see that I’ve been a little overwhelmed with lots going on. I apologise profusely to those of you that signed up for the Blackcurrant Pie newsletter. It will be back, and it’s still a great way of getting birthday vouchers and blog updates. I just got a little swamped with things. If you haven’t read any issues yet, check out the side bar on my blog. Lots of tips for taking and editing photos.


Well, that’s about it from me. I hope to catch up with you again soon! Enjoy your day and thanks for reading.

Kell. 😀

Leave a Reply

