My place in time / Observations & Photowalks

My place in time – Trainlines

This is my place in time.

#26 – A view with train/rail lines in it.

Bayswater train station, Perth, Western Australia. Late afternoon on Sunday 26th May 2013.

My place in time #26 A view with railway tracks in it.

My place in time #26 A view with railway tracks in it.

My family lived on Wyatt road in Bayswater for 2-3 years until we moved to West Midland in 1984. I have very few memories of our time there, but I do remember trips to the Brett’s deli (on Guildford rd) to buy Malteasers in the old white boxes. As an older kid and young adult I would gaze out of the train window at the row of old shops facing the train station. The one that always stuck in my memory was one called Fagins. I assume it was an antiques store or thrift shop.

I haven’t really walked around Bayswater before, but I will go back for a better look. The area has loads of stuff for my place in time topics including old buildings and churches, the river, city views from some places… I met a man called Chris who works in the Creative glass shop. He gave me a Bayswater heritage trail brochure and told me a little about the building that’s now Liquorland. He says he has some old photos of it. He also told me that he’d had replacement tiles  especially made for the front of his little shop so they kept with the original ones. I’ll try to post some photos of his shop another time as there is a really cool door with dichroic glass in it.

If you get a chance, go for a walk down King William st in Bayswater, near the subway and Whatley crescent. It’s really nice!

Bayswater train station, Perth.

Bayswater train station, Perth.

Pretty lamps hanging in an antiques store on King William street, Bayswater.

Pretty lamps hanging in an antiques store on King William street, Bayswater.

© Kell Rowe 2013

Tiles on the shop fronts, King William street.

Tiles on the shop fronts, King William street.

Want to know more about the “My place in time” project? You can find the list here.

One thought on “My place in time – Trainlines

  1. Pingback: This is my place in time. Local area history project. | Blackcurrant Photography

Leave a Reply

