Journal / Observations & Photowalks / Street & candid

West End and windscreens – Snapshots of Perth City 30/3/2013

As I sit down to type this, it’s just ticked over into the early hours of Easter Sunday. It’s been a nice weekend so far. For the first time in over a decade, Jason and I have a major holiday all to ourselves. No work, no long drives, no obligations. It’s our first plan-free Easter and I’m loving just making things up as we go along.

Saturday’s plan was simple – buy ourselves some chocolate, and go to Bunnings. That’s a hardware warehouse with a garden centre for those of you not in the know. Summer was unrelenting so I need to replace pretty much all of my plants as well as inject some new quirkiness and colour into the garden. But I’ll get to that in another post. We settled on a trip to Grill’d for burgers, followed by a quick visit to the Margaret River Chocolate Company store. Definite improvement on bracing a shopping centre for sub-par broken Easter eggs.

I was interested in snapping some pics of Easter shoppers and seeing if I could capture anything interesting so grabbed my old favourite, the ‘nifty 50’ Nikkor lens. I love it, but boy, I can’t wait til I get my 35mm. I have a crop frame camera so a 35mm works like a traditional 50mm, the go-to lens for street photographers of old.
We avoided the main shopping craziness of the malls though and stayed up the west end of town, around King st, Murray st, and Queen street. Afterwards we drove west down Hay st, then left onto Milligan st before making our way east along St Georges Tce, the Esplanade, and Riverside drive.

Why am I telling you this? Well I’m really into the pictures that Museum of Perth have been tweeting of our city. I’ve taken loads of photos growing up, but I realise that I’ve never taken enough pictures of the little things in the suburbs and the changes that take place around the place. A skyscraper shot every few years from Kings Park doesn’t really capture the things we live with every day… where we shop, the signs, prices of things, what we’re wearing etc. The pictures we love most of our city and the past are pictures of buildings and cars and shops and people going about their lives. If we don’t photograph the everyday stuff now, nobody will know what was ‘everyday’ thirty years from now. Or even fifteen years from now.

I regret not taking photos of the Hay street mall as it looked when I was a kid and in my teens. Of the cinemas and the basement McDonalds by Cinema City.  The Alchemist in Fremantle with their awesome wax encrusted candelabra. The inside of the Subi Pavillion markets. Phone boxes! That I never stood on the platform of the West Midland train station I used for 20 years and photographed the neighbourhood. I have more pictures of these sorts of things than other people I know, but not as many as I’d like.

That stops now. It’s time to photograph the little things. The things you think are insignificant now, but you’ll miss in a few years. Like the photo I took of my friend when we were 13. We were standing outside the Solo petrol station on Spring Park road in Midland because a blonde guy we liked called Chris worked there. The petrol was only 60-70 cents. *sigh*

Anyway…. new photos:

 


© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

The stickers on the window at Grill’d projected themselves on the table I was sitting at.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I really like these red jugs. I took this by just resting the camera on the table and using the live view mode.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

The top of the louvered windows caught the light and cast rainbows all over the floor. I was tempted to construct some kind of Pink Floyd tribute out of serviettes….but didn’t.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Funky old style looking lightbulbs. I think they’re actually modified to hold halogen bulbs inside.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Murray Street showing the Capitol and Amplifier. I’ve only been inside once. It was back in 1999 when it was called The Globe. My friend and I went to something called the Sleaze Ball, dressed as tigers.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I was born in them, so it kind of goes with the territory.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I have no idea what “never odd or even” refers to. Maybe it’s one of those hipster coffee places where I don’t fit in.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Wooden spoons in the window of Margaret River Providore. I chickened out of taking pictures of people buying chocolate. It was too busy and I didn’t want to get snapped at by a manager.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Awnings on Queen street.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Cool wrought iron detail on a gate in King street.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

79 King street.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I love seeing how people decorate their balconies.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I’m obsessed with arches.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Exiting car park onto Hay street.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

This sign caught my eye at the traffic light.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Intersection of William street and St Georges Tce, Perth.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Intersection of William street and St Georges Tce, Perth.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

St Georges Tce looking East from William street intersection.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Corner of William St and The Esplanade. Elizabeth Quay development in the background.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Corner of William street and The Esplanade.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

William street, looking at entrance to Esplanade train station.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

This didn’t really work but that car has a sticker on the back that says ‘I love Perth’.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Riverside drive looking East. This motorcyclist had what looked like a helmet camera. So naturally I started thinking it was actor Ewan McGregor who is in town shooting a movie. Stupid really… I’m sure his bike is much better than this. I don’t know why I’m so keen to meet him. I have a horrendous record for saying stupid things when meeting celebrities. Then my husband teases me. I’m still getting paid out for making an idiot of myself in 2003.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Causeway roundabout with Police Headquarters in the background.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

One day we will look at this and think petrol was really cheap.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Intersection of Belmont Ave and Wright St, Belmont.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Belmont Ave and Wright street.

© Kell Rowe 2013 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

The light is nice through here in the afternoon.

Wow… it’s after 1am now, so I’m heading off to bed. Hope I inspired you a little. Good night and have a great Easter…or a great long weekend… depending on your situation.

Kell =)

 

Leave a Reply

