Candid & Photojournalistic / Observations & Photowalks / Street & candid

Stolen moments – Snapshot of Perth City, Friday 19/10/2012

I’ve spent the last two weeks in Perth’s CBD undertaking training for my new part time job. On Friday, I took my camera into town to photograph some of the gorgeous facades along Murray and Barrack streets during my break.

I ended up turning my attention to the people around me instead.

These photographs were taken over two sections of the day – lunchtime, and early evening. I just pulled out my camera with trusty 50mm lens, and played tourist, taking pics as quickly as possible before moving on. Some are fuzzy, but all capture a snapshot of the interactions, fashion, and quirkiness of Perth on one given day.

None of these photos were posed, and I didn’t speak to anyone being photographed. All of them were taken with a 50mm fixed lens (with the crop factor).

Enjoy! If you’d like to see other examples of my street photography, please do a keyword search or explore the portraiture category.

The times shown refer to the photo above.


 

1:16 pm Murray Street.


 

1:17pm Murray Street.


 

1:18pm Murray Street.

 


1:18pm Murray Street.


 

1:19pm Murray Street.


 

1:19pm Murray Street.


 

1:23pm Hay Street.


 

1:24pm Hay Street.


 

1:24pm Hay Street.
This is one of my favourites.


 

1:26pm Hay Street.


 

1:27pm Hay Street.


 

1:28pm Hay Street.


 

1:30pm Barrack Street.


 

1:30pm Barrack Street.


 

1:31pm Barrack Street.


 

1:31pm Barrack & Murray Streets.


 

1:32pm Murray Street.


 

1:33pm Murray Street.


 

1:34pm Murray Street.


 


The following photos were taken in the evening, after work, and with the shops open for late night trading.

5:57pm Murray street.


 

5:58pm Murray Street.


 

5:59pm Murray Street.
Another of my favourites.


 

6:00pm Murray Street.


 

6:00pm Murray Street.


 

6:01pm Murray Street end of Piccadilly Arcade.


 

6:02pm Murray Street.


 

6:02pm Murray Street.


 

6:03pm Murray Street.


 

6:05pm Murray Street.


 

6:05pm Murray Street.


 

6:05pm Murray Street.
I love this one.


6:08pm Murray Street.


 

By this time it was getting chilly and I was pretty hungry, so I headed home. I thought it was a pretty interesting day, and was surprised how many pictures I could take in what added up to maybe 15-30 minutes.

One thing that prompted me to take these was discovering I didn’t have enough photos of the places and spaces I spent so much time growing up. Perth is changing quicker than ever and I want to make sure I capture the little things.

2 thoughts on “Stolen moments – Snapshot of Perth City, Friday 19/10/2012

  1. Pingback: Playing at being a tourist in Perth City. My personal history tour. | Blackcurrant Photography

Leave a Reply

