Journal

Music of the moment playlist – (or what to write when you don’t have a blog post).

I’m feeling rough, I’m feeling raw, I’m in the prime of my life…

Or so goes the song “Time to Pretend”, which is covered by one of my favourite artists, Paul Dempsey.

Personally I’m feeling a little lost and unfocused. Not so much on my own work,  my artwork, but more on the critical  work-I-need-to-do-to-pay-the-bills front.
I’m not procrastinating, I’m being productive, it just seems that things aren’t going right today. Dropping things I’m making, covering myself in glue, that sort of thing.

Sometimes I just need to tune out and listen to some music. This is a playlist that I put together at the start of June. I really like it, you might too, I’m not sure. I tried to make it so that every song kind of flows into the next. There is an ebb and flow, up and down. Some tunes are happy, some moody. It was hard to make, it took over an hour. It includes some of my favourites, as well as some older songs I’d forgotten about.

There is a lot of Powderfinger. I don’t apologise for that.

Download the songs. Play them in order, without the shuffle on. You might enjoy it.


Ana’s song (Open Fire)  Silverchair

D.A.F.  Powderfinger

The honeymoon is over  The Cruel Sea

Black hearts (on fire)  Jet

All the small things  Blink 182

Don’t change  Grinspoon (cover)

Bats  Paul Dempsey

Time to pretend  Paul Dempsey (cover)

From the sea  Eskimo Joe

Head up in the clouds  Powderfinger

Today  Smashing Pumpkins

Special K  Placebo

Santa Monica  Everclear

My kind of scene  Powderfinger

Come as you are (unplugged)  Nirvana

Love will tear us apart  Joy Division

Life in the fast lane  The Eagles

Staying alive  The Bee Gees

Pick you up  (Live Perth 24th Sept 2010) Powderfinger

On my mind  Powderfinger (I walked down the aisle to this)

Joker and the thief  Wolfmother

Freak  Silverchair

Pretty Fly (for a white guy)  The Offspring

Are you gonna be my girl?  Jet

You get what you give  New Radicals

Beautiful day  U2

Straight lines  Silverchair

Sweet child of mine  Guns n Roses

Thrilloilogy (Live Perth 24th Sept 2010)  Powderfinger

In my place  Coldplay

The show must go on  Queen

El tango del Roxane  Moulin Rouge Soundtrack

Never tear us apart  INXS

Stay with me baby  Loraine Ellison

Dreams  The Cranberries

Never let me go  Florence and the machine

The last day on earth  Kate Miller-Heidke

One  U2

Pride (in the name of love) U2

Don’t dream, it’s over  Crowded House

Don’t look back in anger  Oasis

Revolution  The Beatles

Place your hands  Reef

Your heart’s a mess  Gotye (an except of this is my phone’s message tone)

Creep (explicit version) Radiohead

Linger  The Cranberries

Reflections of a sound  Silverchair

The world that I know  Collective Soul

Always  Bon Jovi

Since you’ve been gone  Powderfinger

Flame trees  Cold Chisel

Think it over  Powderfinger

Who really cares?  Powderfinger

While my guitar gently weeps  The Beatles

November Rain  Guns n Roses

These Days (Live Perth 24th Sept 2010)  Powderfinger

Stuck in a moment  U2

Elenore  The Turtles

You make my dreams  Hall and Oates

Electric Blue  Icehouse (I never get sick of this song)

Nothing lasts forever  Echo and the Bunnymen

Passenger (Live Perth 24th Sept 2010) Powderfinger

I want to break free  Queen

Saturday night’s all right  Elton John

 


Just as a footnote – I would love if someone made a Youtube  mashup of all the movie scenes featuring ‘You make my dreams’. I think it’s one of the happiest songs in the world.

 


Leave a Reply

