nature / Observations & Photowalks

Black cockatoos & shop news

I was out in the garden a few days ago and I heard acracking noise. My first insinct was to think it was our horribly rickety pergola packing it in. That or a very large rat…

I was pleasantly surprised to look up and find no less than 6 huge wild black cockatoos having a chomp on next door’s tree. They are considered endangered, so even though they fly over a couple of times every day making a racket, it’s still a bit of a treat to have them so close.

I think this one’s my favourite.

I grabbed my telephoto lens and stood on a chair for a little while, hoping to get a peek of their really cool red and tigerstriped tail feathers.

Please forgive the fuzziness of some of these images, zoom lenses and birds aren’t really my specialty. Cockatoos scare me a little because they’re so big and primitive looking, so I like to admire them from a distance!

Enjoy. =) – you can click the thumbnails to see a gallery.


In other news, I have taken a little time off away from Etsy forums, promos, listings etc (although obviously I am still processing orders) to refresh and to work through some taxtime stuff.  I recently joined an Etsy team for WA artisans and threw myself pretty heavily into assisting with that but it’s always nice to take a little time out.

I’ve been watching some movies, playing around on Pinterest, and getting stuck into my old past time of interior decorating using The Sims 2. It’s great, I get to build and decorate houses I can only dream about. I really think Interior Decoration would be my second calling after photography!

Blackcurrant Photography is turning 2 on the 19th July and I need to consider what I want to focus on next. I love making my photo jewellery, but always get the biggest thrill from selling my prints. You may see some more print and display options in the shop soon – available on a print to order basis.

With Christmas only 6mths away I am also considering offering some greeting cards and postcards printed to order using my wildflower images and custom text. These will be approximately $5-$6 each and are designed to be framed after use. If you’d like to see some of the blank cards already available, please pop over to my Etsy  shop. All my links are on my website.

If you are in Perth and would like to see some of my jewellery and prints in person with a view to buying, please contact me by emailing info@blackcurrantphotography.com.au and we can arrange a meeting.

That’s all for now. Thanks for visiting! – Kell

7 thoughts on “Black cockatoos & shop news

  1. Pingback: Return of the black cockatoos. | Blackcurrant Photography

  2. These guys do make a racket, but I love them, they bring back memories of how my Dad would sit on his porch on our property and pass the afternoon feeding these guys. Amongst the Aussie bushland block, they are somewhat therapeutic! Your eyes just glide with them! Great photos! Yx

    • Thanks for commenting Yvette =) These guys generally come by in the late afternoon and there are a few different gangs of them calling out to each other. The one in flight came over to check out the tree but he didn’t stay long. I think the guys already there told him and his mates to get lost!

Leave a Reply

