etsy / Handmade / Items for sale / Journal / Photo gifts on Etsy / Photo gifts on Redbubble

January notes, Australia Day, and some new products.

February already! Thanks so much for joining me in January. Wow, what a huge month.

Here’s what I blogged about:

Icebergs and vivid dreams
My memories of 1992 (20 years ago! *sob*)
Yellow flowers – so sunny! 
What I’ve been reading… or rather, what I got out of the library and is on the floor next to my bed
My pretty bohemian garden makeover
Evacuating due to a bushfire

Wrapping up 2011 

I kicked off with my second lot of advertising on the very popular Epheriell Designs   blog (currently grumpy with myself for not signing up for February too). It was good to have my name up there every time someone visited Jess’ page. The winner of the December giveaway was drawn and my pretty Geraldton Wax earrings now have a new life with Cindy in America.

© Kell Rowe 2012 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Geraldton Wax earrings

On the business side of things, January started slowly after the excitement of last minute Christmas shopping. This was just as well, because in the first few days of the month, one of my hard-drives failed. Cue a deep, dark funk before one of my fabulous Twitter friends, Anthony managed to rescue it. Many files were backed up on other discs and in the cloud (I use a service called Spideroak), but it’s awfully nice to have everything back where it should be.

Since then, I’ve been steadily chipping away at updating my Lighroom catalogues. For those who don’t use it, it’s  pro image library and editing software. I started off with ~17900 photo files about 2 weeks ago and am now down to 13,800. I was pretty brutal. If it wasn’t a favourite image or something I’d use for work, it went in the bin. It feels quite fantastic really! And I’ve now got a much better idea of what’s in my folio… the pitfalls of being able to fire off 200 photos per outing!

A new year brings with it new ideas and I’ve been making lots of enquiries and drawing up plans in my new business journal. If you don’t have one, I really recommend it. I have a  stunning Christopher Vine dragonfly notebook a friend gave me which is for all my notes, supplier contacts, ideas and sketches. I also bought a small blank paged notebook I’ve been using as a diary. They’re both hardcover and quite pretty so I want to use them. The diary notebook is fantastic – I use it to jot down what I’ve done for the business during the day along with the vibe of the day. I think it’ll be a good reminder for me, especially when comparing with shop and blog stats.

© Kell Rowe 2012 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Craftcult.com is great for finding where you've been featured

Things started to pick up towards the end of the month. I joined a new Etsy team (Etsians of Facebook) and Australia Day last week meant that a lot of people were finding my work by searching the word Australia. Having on of my items featured in an official  Etsy email helped too! I don’t normally talk about stats but I am feeling pretty loved right now. 1740 Etsy views for January, 20+ new people dding me o Etsy circles, ~12 new Facebook likes, I pretty much doubled my WordPress subscribers (THANKS!!) and more people added me on Pinterest.

Thankyou so much, it means so much to me.

Hey, while I’m at it, I’d like to show you some new stuff I made this month:

© Kell Rowe 2012 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Iceblock. From AU$145 plus postage.

Iceblocks are 3cm thick blocks of acrylic with an image facemounted to the back. They really need to be seen in person for best effect, but you can see a video on my shop page.

© Kell Rowe 2012 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Lots of sparkling new metallic photo jewellery.

© Kell Rowe 2012 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

New 'continental' hook earrings. More styles coming soon.

© Kell Rowe 2012 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Candy cane photo shirt.

© Kell Rowe 2012 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Australia blue orchid shirt. Range of styles available for men & women.


Thanks for being part of my world in January, hope to chat to you again as the year progresses.

Kell =)

P.S. My friend Charlie got featured on the front page of WordPress a few days ago. So proud of him!

Leave a Reply

