Creative writing

Write on Wednesday – Choose your own adventure

It’s been quite a while since I sat down and participated in Write on Wednesday. I think a major drawcard this week may have been my slight reluctance to edit a ton of photos for a blog post when the house is calling out to me for some attention!

Anyway, this week WOW asks us to revisit previous writing prompts or to develop a character we’ve worked with before. I know my red crayon piece was popular, as was my little story about Johnathan and Tilly. So I’ll just let my muses in and see which direction we head off in. I think I’ll revisit “The clock winked”

The Write On Wednesday Rules: Get creative with the writing exercises – there isn’t a right or wrong. Please do try to visit the other members of Write On Wednesdays and leave a comment of support and constructive criticism. 

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 24  This week is  a Choose Your Own Adventure week. Look to your left…In my sidebar you will find a list of the WoW writing exercises. Pick a prompt that takes your fancy and  make it work for you. Maybe you will work on yourNaNo story or another writing project or perhaps just a bit of creative exploration. You might even like to share your favorite book genre with us and then use the prompt to work on a similar theme.

********************

It wasn’t really a clock of course. That was just a nickname given to her many years ago by students long gone. Outwardly she seemed organised, strict, opinionated and reliable, a constant in an ever changing world of chaos. She was always where she should be, dependable and methodical. You could set your watch by her.

So the nickname had stuck.

Those that had gotten close to her in her time in the great dark halls of St Marys knew that there was so much more to The Clock than there appeared to be on the surface. New girls often dismissed her as old, humorless, strict and that most bland of descriptions – boring- when in fact beneath the surface was a wonderful smile, oodles of knowledge from both her own experiences and the many years spent travelling and studying. Humour? Bucket loads of wit, which if you showed respect, intellect and interest, would easily come to the surface.

There was certainly a way to wind The Clock in your favour, but too few bothered or they tried to exploit her good nature.

But romance… oh she had a weakness for romance! Always bending the rules just a little. Was she getting softer as time went on? She didn’t think so. She knew a truly exciting love story when she overheard the whispers in the hall. Not the quick drunken fumbles  some of the juniors were getting up to, getting themselves in trouble. No… the old school, toe curling, love letter writing, flowers left by the boarding school door in the dead of the night romance.

There’d been flashes of it in her own life of course. Closely guarded secrets that the students had never quite managed to prise from her. Would she tell one day? She wasn’t sure. Looking down at her aging hands she knew she’d have to write her story one day.

She hummed a dusty old melody to herself and stole about changing the times on the hallway clocks and keeping watch on the door. Nothing must go wrong tonight. It was far too important to Rhiannon.

12 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday – Choose your own adventure

  1. Kell, you have such a great writing style. This builds beautifully. I love the sentence structure in the first paragraph – nice and officious. It suits the description of her, as seen by others from the outside. Then as we discover more of her humanity and we go into her mind a little, the sentences soften and become animated. Cool! 🙂
    I feel like I know The Clock in real life… I think I can hear her shoes tick-tocking down the hall!

  2. I love this piece. Your character is intriguing, even seducing; I want to know all about her. You provided us with a sea of facts about her, yet I find myself thinking it too little information; that’s how interesting this character is.

    I would absolutely love to read a story with her as the main character (or at least one of the more important secondary characters). You have great skill with words, and I could pick a few sentences which stand out in a good way, but I’ll just say it was a pleasure to read about The Clock.

    I just read the first bit from august, by the way, and I love where you’re taking the story. I have no idea whether the main character in the story is Rhiannon or The Clock, which is just the way I like it, and I can’t shake the feeling that The Clock has much to reveal, much to make readers love her even more. =)

    / Rain

  3. I LOVE the idea of “The Clock” being a person! I can just imagine school kids making up a name like that, especially given her routine oriented personal traits.

    “There was certainly a way to wind The Clock in your favour, but too few bothered or they tried to exploit her good nature.”

    I just love this line, the analogy of ‘winding the clock’ – winding up a person. Fabulous 🙂

  4. That was wonderfully written. This character is so relatable and just enjoyable to read about. I loved reading about her secret inner romantic, and her humming the “dusty old melody”. There is a great Shakespeare quote that I just have to tie into this in some way.

    “Look he’s winding up the watch of his wit. By and by it will strike.”

    Of course it is a girl in your story, but that was the impression I got from her. She was just winding up all her good qualities over the years, and soon she will strike and show everyone what she is capable of. Great work!!!

    Claire

  5. I love that you used “The Clock” to describe her way of life. I am inriqued to find out what happens. This is a very creative piece and am looking forward to reading more.
    On a side note…..I have always loved the song “Rhiannon” by Fleetwood Mac.

  6. Wow. I LOVE the way you used the prompt. clever, unique and intriguing. Great imagery in this piece…Are you talking about St Mary’s school in Perth?? Either way, this is a story worth continuing with.

    You really are an imaginative and creative writer! Great to see you joining in this week, Kelly

    x

    • Hiya, thanks for the comments. No, not that St Marys Gill, it was just a random school name.
      The character was very loosely based on a fabulous lady from my past and follows on from part 1 I wrote in August. =)

  7. I love the two before last sentences they really personalize the character as the clock that she is. There is some really witty word use in this piece. Thought it was great. Good job!

Leave a Reply

