Journal / Observations & Photowalks

30 day photography challenge – Hyde Park.

Hmm… So you may have noticed I fell off the blogging/photo challenge bandwagon for a bit there. No biggie, I started my new weekend job last week and was completely exhausted, so I thought it best to take a break and come back to it refreshed.  I’ve skipped a couple of days due to some technical issues (I can’t photograph light trails without a decent tripod) but I’ve decided as long as I’m out there making an effort it’s better than nothing. 🙂

After I stopped by the lab this afternoon to pick up my prints, I spent about 20mins in Hyde Park with my camera, trying to capture Day 12’s prompt – Bokeh.  I love bokeh (the little circles you get when you point your camera at light sources) and you’ll find it comes naturally in many of my photos anyway, but I still took a picture of some figs for you to show I know what I’m doing. I used f8 so the bokeh is quite small and defined.

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

DAY 12 - Taken at f8 so the bokeh is small and defined.

Day 13’s prompt was to produce a photo edit that I liked and to show you the difference between the original and the new picture. These are some awesome fig tree roots.

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Before processing. This photo has only been sharpened.

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

After processing in Lightroom.

Day 14’s prompt is a photo focusing on the eyes. I don’t really have a new photo of this though I do have some awesome eye shots from when I made my wildflower film last year (that’s on my galleries page). I did focus on the eyes whilst photographing this wack-wack (that’s a duck to most people over the age of 3) but I don’t think that counts.

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I love ducks.

Day 15 is just a photo of whatever I please, so I decided to photograph other parts of the park for you.

Whilst I was here I sat on a bench bearing a little plaque dedicated to 11 year old Evie who passed in 2010. The bench was covered in colourful wool and a few flowers and there was lots of glitter on the ground – someone had visited recently. So I sat for a little while and enjoyed her view.

I hope you enjoy it too. 🙂

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Sponsor update.

If you’ve ever seen that little donate button on the side of my website and wondered what it’s for, well this is it. My friends on Twitter kindly donated the funds to allow me to enter the South Perth Emerging Artist Awards and get my entry framed up. Your donation helps me to enter industry competitions, maintain my site and buy materials to help me further Blackcurrant. If you’ve enjoyed looking at my photos, please consider a donation.

© Kell Rowe 2011 Blackcurrant Photography

My entry for the 2011 South Perth Emerging Artist Awards

Leave a Reply

