Journal / Observations & Photowalks

30 day photography challenge. Day 10 – Lillies

Day 10 was another ‘whatever you please’ prompt. Handy, as yesterday was a busy and tiring day. I’ve started waking super early to try and condition my body for the first day of my new job later this week. So far I feel pretty bloody tired, but I have managed to knock off several tasks before lunch so I guess that’s a bonus.

Yesterday had me driving down to the southern suburbs to collect some bottles from one of my Twitter friends to use in my garden. I got lost (thanks so much Google maps) but I finally found the place and after meeting her, her two gorgeous and very enthusiastic kids and their HUGE rabbit, I set off back up to Perth.

Yesterday was also a very good reminder of why I should (almost always) have my camera with me when I leave the house.

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

This is when I discovered the lillies. I LOVE these lillies. I’ve never been quite sure if they’re called calla or arum lillies. Some call them death lillies and don’t like them but I think they’re beautiful. We used to have a lot at my childhood home, they grew underneath the oleander. Scary, really how many deadly plants my mother had in her garden….

Anyway, in Western Australia they’re pretty much considered a noxious weed which kill wildlife, poison dogs etc and for all I know are the scourge of this particular neighbourhood.

I was in LOVE. I’ve long wanted to do a creepy portraiture shoot surrounded by lillies. 

Sadly I couldn’t wander around into these because on closer inspection they were in a lake. The lake was covered in this beautiful green… I don’t know what it was really it’s probably algae or something else slimy. But to me it was beautiful. I was peering through these gumtrees to see a river of green, surrounded by white lillies. It was all peaceful and serene and very artistic. Just a tiny oasis in the middle of a housing estate.

Hopefully you get a feel for it too. 

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

2 thoughts on “30 day photography challenge. Day 10 – Lillies

  1. Pingback: 12 months of Blackcurrant. Farewell 2011. « Blackcurrant Photography – Perth, Australia. Fine art, creative portraiture, nature photography & Australian gifts.

Leave a Reply

