Fine art / Journal / Other

30 day photography challenge. Day 5 – dragonflies.

Day 5 brings the prompt “whatever you please”. Those who have known me longer than about 5 seconds would realise I’m rather obsessed with dragonflies. I have 2 dragonfly tattoos and a lot of dragonfly jewellery, trinkets etc. I even modified my camera strap to incorporate dragonflies!

These two little guys had sadly passed on before I met them, and I found their bodies on the pavement. The little blue one in winter 2010 as I walked along the path beside Belmont Racecourse and the big brown one in June along a back street of Mt Lawley. On both occasions I lovingly scooped them up between my hands and rearranged my bag/camera case/car to accommodate them. They now live their afterlife in pretty little cases on my shelf.

This is the first time I’ve photographed them. That’s as much of a surprise to me as it may be to you!

© Kell Rowe www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “30 day photography challenge. Day 5 – dragonflies.

Leave a Reply

