Journal

Bordering on bohemian

Nearly six years ago, Jas  sold his third floor flat with a little balcony and we moved back up to Perth to rent a house with a huge garden.

The balcony of our old Calista flat, 2003. We still have the dish with the now 8yr old spider plant!

Our yard when we first moved in. We can't use that shed unfortunately.

It was supposed to be for six months but through a combination of comfort and laziness we just kept staying on and on. Whilst it would be nice to be closer to a cafe strip, it’s not a bad place to live. 

But the garden generally just seems to accumulate crap and tools and despite having a rather nice outdoor setting, we never seem to do much out there. Besides, the pergola is rotting through and it’s probably not very safe. It’s an awkward shaped block too but the benefit of that is there’s lots of little pockets of garden to explore…or hide junk.

A few things happened recently to make me change my mind about the garden (especially remembering the longing for one when we did live in the flat)  and they’ve set me off on a little craft project.

© Kell Rowe 2011. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Raised from seed.

First of all, I decided I would actually celebrate Spring in my own garden for a change, so I spent late April and May sowing seeds. I sowed hundreds of light pink everlastings that I bought from a native plant nursery, cornflowers and some mixed everlastings I bought from Bunnings. I sowed them all over the place but within days the garden beds were flooded. As a result I’m only seeing flowers in one bed… but it’s a start.

I discovered Pinterest, which is basically a digital pinboard/scrapbook of all the cool things other people make, do and see. Very inspiring to say the least.

We went out to a few cute and quirky cafes, which made me think there is absolutely no reason why I can’t bring the quirky cafe vibe to my house. Ok I don’t have much in the way of a coffee machine (I think there’s a basic Breville one in the cupboard) but most of the time I go to cafes for somewhere nice to sit.

The landlords saw the pergola bowing and shaking and decided they’d make us a new patio for summer. Hopefully this happens soon.

I was lamenting to someone, probably Mum, that my home wasn’t as I dreamed it’d be when I was little. The response was that I’m the only one stopping that from happening.

And the most important thing of all was that after years of not ever having anyone over for various reasons, I started to make some awesome new friends, and I really would like to spend Spring and summer getting to know them better. Not having a day job means not having any money to go out, so really, there’s no better time to invite people to come around with a plate of food!

That’s the plan, but before I can have people around, I have to get stuck into making the garden somewhere where I really want to be. Somewhere I can sit, read (albeit between jumbos taking off), drink peppermint tea and get away from the computer.

Due to the lack of funds, I’m really putting an emphasis on asking for donations and recycling objects that would otherwise be thrown away.

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Wine bottle garden bed border.

My new friend Jesse reviews wine for his blog Good Drop. I asked him what he normally does with all the bottles. Seeing as he usually recycles them when the bin is empty, he was more than happy to drop them off for me. What am I using them for? Suncatcher garden bed edging! I figure we can even sit tealights in the top if we’re so inclined.

© Kell Rowe 2011. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Another little idea I had to add colour was to create little paper mobiles from paint chips collected at Bunnings. They’re strung up on fishing line with a button to catch the light and stabilise it. Despite our weekend downpours they’re holding up well (I’ll write a tutorial for these soon).

© Kell Rowe 2011. www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I’ve also been visiting the huge local swapmeet where I’ve had extraordinary luck finding frames and other goodies such as this awesome bead curtain for only $2. I have a dream of creating a bohemian/hippie crossed with Alice in Wonderland vibe and wanted to suspend frames around the garden using fishing line.

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I’ve got a long way to go before reality matches the pictures in my head, including trying to get Jas to tidy up his stuff *coughhintcough* but I’m slowly seeing it start to evolve.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hope you enjoy looking at the project in progress. I’m still looking for the following so if you’re in Perth and are happy to donate something for free please let me know:

  • Windchimes and suncatchers.
  • Bright spray paint for repainting tyres and garden ornaments.
  • Pink, red or blue glass bottles or jars.
  • A (safe) hammock stand, preferably with a hammock!
  • Some succulents as I’d like to try the teacup succulent idea.
  • Bead curtains.
  • Colourful or patterned photo frames.
  • Acrylic paint tubes (like Chromacryl).
  • Old slr or Holga/Diana/Lomo type cameras that don’t work.

Thanks!
Kell =)

4 thoughts on “Bordering on bohemian

  1. Pingback: 12 months of Blackcurrant. Farewell 2011. « Blackcurrant Photography – Perth, Australia. Fine art, creative portraiture, nature photography & Australian gifts.

  2. Pingback: 30 day photography challenge. Day 10 – Lillies « Blackcurrant Photography – Perth, Australia. Fine art, creative portraiture, nature photography & Australian gifts.

  3. One of my favourite wind chimes was made of those coloured glass stones and flattened cutlery strung from an old steel serving tray. Great use of old kitchen junk from a garage sale and sounded awesome. Looking good, Kell!

Leave a Reply

