Client work / Portraiture / Promotional

Three go to tea – a retro photoshoot

What a splendid day this was! A retro themed photoshoot, in the neighbourhood I grew up in. Three beautiful models who easily slipped from 2011 back to the late 50s/early 60s and more cupcakes than you could poke a stick at. Bliss!

It was all thanks to my friend and fellow photographer, Deanna Whyte, who teamed up with Kustom Cupcakes in Northbridge to photograph their amazing cakes for a competition (and hopefully upcoming advertising). In exchange for photographs, we had 2 dozen cupcakes to reward us after a busy afternoon’s work.

Our wonderful models – Jennifer, Natalie and Lee-Anne transformed into gorgeous 50s ‘Ladies of leisure’ thanks to some beautiful gowns and their combined hair/makeup skills (De was putting rollers in for ages!).

Whilst the ladies were getting ready, I had the pleasure of playing hide & seek with De’s 3 and a half year old daughter X (who has the most impeccable manners I’ve ever witnessed!). It was really fun, especially considering I’d played there myself when I wasn’t much older. It’s a very old neighbourhood. My school friend Loris used to live there, and later my brother’s best friend, Briannon. I lived around the corner for nearly 20yrs.

I also let X take some photos with my camera, letting her look through the viewfinder whilst I held the lens and getting her to tell me when it was clear or fuzzy. She took some really good photos! I’ll post some pictures of her later once I’ve checked with her Mum and Dad.

Anyway, enough babbling from me, here are my photographs from the day. Hope you love them to bits!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Special thanks to:

Lee-Anne
Natalie
Jennifer
Deanna Whyte Photography
Kustom Cupcakes

3 thoughts on “Three go to tea – a retro photoshoot

  1. Pingback: 12 months of Blackcurrant. Farewell 2011. « Blackcurrant Photography – Perth, Australia. Fine art, creative portraiture, nature photography & Australian gifts.

  2. Pingback: Wrapping up August and some news « Blackcurrant Photography – Perth, Australia. Fine art, creative portraiture, nature photography & Australian gifts.

Leave a Reply

