Creative writing

Status Anxiety – Write on Wednesdays

My very first attempt at this. I liked Jayne’s so much (Her blog, Writing without pay) that I thought I’d give it a go. Admittedly, I don’t type very fast and I’m not trained in creative writing, plot development etc so it’s super short… but I like the idea behind this project!

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 6 – Status Anxiety: Log onto your Facebook/Twitter page and write down the first status update you see. Set a timer for 5 minutes. Write the first words that come into your head after your prompt. Stop when the buzzer rings. Do this exercise over and over if you wish. If you don’t do the social media thing (there’s bound to be some who haven’t succumbed!) email me and I’ll send you a status update from one of my social media accounts. If you feel uncomfortable about using one of your friend’s status updates, consider using the most recent update on Lamebook, the home of the funniest and lamest Facebook status updates.


On a plane. Plenty of leg room but no tv screen, no wireless, no snacks. Ah well, at least there’s always the skymall magazine.

It feels like I’ve been in the air forever, floating above the earth in this little tin can. I try not to think about it too much. If I dwell on the whole concept of flying I get so angsty I fear my head will explode.

Trying to prise my fingermails from the seat, I look upwards, hoping for something, anything, to take my mind off the looming thoughts of impending doom.

A blonde plait falls over the back of the seat in front, dangling dangerously close to my rapidly cooling tea. I swat it away. The head jerks and a pretty young thing with bright green eyes peers over the back of the seat at me.

“Hi” I attempt a grin. She pulls a face at me.

“What’s your name?” I try again, desperate for company.

“Laura.” She smiles and hands me a blank sheet of paper.


Thanks to @dansmithunknown for the status update.

5 thoughts on “Status Anxiety – Write on Wednesdays

  1. Yes, you got me on the blank piece of papre too. Felt like something was about to happen!

    Very pleased to see you joining in with WoW. Hope to see you back next week.

    Gill

  2. The blank piece of paper was an intriguing detail. If you are going to expand this piece, it might be interesting to edit and start with that at the very opening and then backfill the other info. Nice job.

    • Thanks Ladies. Yes, fun exercise. I love writing and have a bunch of unfinished pieces lying around. Mainly fan fic but a few bits of budding YA fiction written in my teens. The ideas are there but they lack formal structure. My stories tend to meander and I write them like soapies. There seems to be no firm start, only a twisty route to the finish.

      Still, I love sitting in front of a blank screen and seeing what tumbles out.

      The blank paper…I’m not sure. I just figured they have no other way to amuse themselves. It could any any which way though couldn’t it? Turn into a spy thriller even. We don’t know who’s telling the story or how old Laura is. I kind of like that ambiguity.

Leave a Reply

