Inspiration / Journal

Sometimes you can’t make it on your own

This photo is the work of another photographer.

Originally uploaded by kristen cates. Discovered on Flickr by Kell from Blackcurrant Photography.
Please visit the Flickr stream of the photo’s creator to see more of their work.

Photo credit to Kristen Cates, a young photographer from Maine, USA.

A couple of weeks ago I swapped ipods with Jason. It seemed only fair. I had about 100GB free on mine and his 80GB one was full. I haven’t got around to reloading mine yet so yesterday I was listening to a U2 cd in my car. One hour worth of songs by one band, what a novelty! I’ve gotten far too used to the random nature of mp3s and radio.

The song “Sometimes you can’t make it on your own” written about Bono’s relationship with his Dad came on and as U2 songs usually do, it struck a cord with me.

We creatives can be a bloody stubborn lot can’t we? Many of us work too hard, for little reward and won’t accept little less than perfection. We have our ideas, dreams and plans and when on a roll can rarely be persuaded to stop (hands up if you skipped more than one meal this week?) let alone ask for help.

But U2 are right. Sometimes we really can’t do it on our own. Sometimes a fresh set of eyes, a new perspective, running a question past someone in the know can be the thing that takes us from pulling another all nighter (or heading for the emergency “woe is me” chocolate) and gets us back on track.

This week I’ve been fortunate enough to both give and receive. I was asked by Kate from Perth’s Cat Haven animal refuge for some tips on taking pictures of the cats in their pens (which are roomy for the kitties but not so much for photographers) and making the cats look their best for their Facebook page. We want as many cats adopted as possible and like a dating site, sometimes you only get one chance to snag the one that changes your life.

So I volunteered a couple of hours yesterday to give back to the place I’d adopted so many furry family members over the years and went down to give Kate a one on one workshop on how to make the most of her space, light and time restrictions. It was a very rewarding experience and it’s good to know I could help out despite our current inability to adopt or donate money.

Earlier in the week I was the one putting my hand up for help. I knew I needed to make some changes to this site but I’d had a bit of bad news, was feeling fed up with being broke and was completely stuck on a few things I wanted to work on, mainly coz I was down in the dumps and had lost my focus.

I was lucky enough to secure a free 1on1 Skype business and blogging consultation last week offered by Dannielle Cresp of www.danniellecresp.com

It was great to have somebody other than a family or friend to take an independent look at what I was doing, tell me what I was doing right and what I could use a little help with. It’s really been the outstretched hand I needed to pull myself out of the rut and get back on with my creative vision. If you’re interested in what Dannielle can help you, your blog and/or small business with please visit this link

Don’t run yourself into the ground. Stick your hand up and get by with a little help from your friends…old and new ones!

One thought on “Sometimes you can’t make it on your own

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sometimes you can’t make it on your own Β« Blackcurrant Photography – Perth, Western Australia. Blog, portraiture, gifts, souvenirs and fine art photography. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

