Food

Bagels & birthdays

During 2010 I got into the very tasty (yet unhealthy) habit of baking up cakes, biscuits and other goodies with the thinly veiled excuse of photographing them for TAFE assignments. Being a gourmand from an early age meant that I only used the best flour, real butter, fine chocolate etc.

Needless to say, the advent of 2011 has had me dragging out that old chestnut of a new years resolution. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve vowed to slim down to being able to wear an Aussie flag bikini next Australia Day but maybe 2012 is my year.

With that in mind, and terribly reluctant to give up my addiction to baking, I’ve tried to switch to making healthier treats. So off to the local library (my favourite source for beautiful cookbooks I can ill afford) I went and returned with two great books. “Miss Dahl’s voluptuous delights” by model Sophie Dahl and “Real family food” by Tana Ramsay – Gordon’s wife.

Blackcurrant Photography turned 6 months old last Wednesday (woohoo!) but instead of cake, I decided I better do the responsible thing and make something healthy.

I’ve been dreaming of bagels since discovering Dough at Adelaide’s Central Markets. I know there are plenty of places here at home that make beautiful bagels (Jean Claude’s springs to mind) but Dough’s were the best I’ve had so far.

So I decided to have a bash at making my own wholemeal bagels. From scratch, the proper way (which involves blanching in boiling water prior to baking). I haven’t made bread from scratch since I was a kid so it was a really enjoyable experience, albeit a long one. It doesn’t seem to matter what it is I’m making – I really enjoy creating things from scratch and seeing every part of a project come together.

The recipe for these yummy mini bagels comes from Tana’s book. I thoroughly recommend it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Speaking of birthdays, my big scary one is looming. Just over 2mths now. Eek.

3 thoughts on “Bagels & birthdays

  1. Tana Ramsay’s stuff is awesome. I have her Family Kitchen recipe book.

    Mmm, gorgeous bagels! With lashings of (vegan) cream cheese. Looking good, Kell.

Leave a Reply

