Food / Observations & Photowalks

Daydream believer

It feels as if I’ve been living with my head up in the clouds the last couple of weeks, daydreaming, going off on tangents (by the way for those of you playing at home, there’s a Powderfinger song called “Head up in the clouds” and it’s great) and basically living in la la land.

I’m not really sure why. It could be any number of things:

  • The heat
  • The impending end of my college life – woohoo, 1 week to go!!!
  • Far too much refined sugar
  • Too much time spent inhaling noxious chemicals in the darkrooms
  • The constant immersion in Powderfinger’s back catalogue as a means of dealing with their disbanding
But I think a large chunk of it comes down to me spending my spare time unwinding by immersing myself back into fiction writing. I have been writing a fan fiction in serial form for the last oh…11 years. I’ve set myself the challenge of actually finishing it by New Year. I think 11 years is long enough! Once it’s done I plan to go back over it, change names and round out the characters more so that it can stand alone, without being a fan fiction. Fan fiction for those that don’t know is where you take existing characters from somewhere and then base a new story on those characters. It’s useful because you can just launch yourself into a story without having to do loads of groundwork.
I don’t know how many of you readers write in your spare time, but I find that things can lie dormant for so long and then, it’s almost like opening a floodgate. Your characters just won’t be quiet. All times of the day and night, banging on the door. ‘Write this down, write this down’. They take you off on tangents, down paths you never thought you’d go, making sure you tell their story. Had some structure? Had an idea? Well it’s all up to your character really. If they don’t see themselves living a quiet life in a country cottage with 2.4 kids then they could very well be doing a bunk and go on the run across Europe and there’s not a damn thing you can do about it except have a pen handy and go along for the ride.
Hmmm.
Anyway, I have managed to pull myself away from things and head out into the sunlight a little this past weekend. Here’s some of the things I’ve captured between daydreams.
I hung out at San Churro with my friend
We ate tapas and discussed Kevin Smith movies – heheh

 


I love Jacarandah trees and wait all year for them to bloom. These are at Houghton Winery.

Sunflowers are one of my favourites. When I was in my teens I used to spend my pocket money buying bunches of them from the Subi markets.

Next weekend I’m on the other side of the camera as I model for my friend Alanna.ย She takes some beautifully dreamy images – which is perfect for me at the moment! I can’t wait to see how they turn out and will post the links when it’s all done and dusted.

One thought on “Daydream believer

Leave a Reply

