Flowers & plants / nature

Film and filter fun

I recently processed a roll of expired Fuji Realia colour negative film which I started using in November 2011 with my Nikon F90x camera and 50mm f1.8 lens. 

It’d been quite a while since I shot any film so I was looking forward to seeing the pictures, and testing my exposure skills.

You know how it is, you can get a litle lazy sometimes with digital photography.  Sometimes it’s fun to go back to the blind faith of film! Remembering to use your light meter, try to avoid colour casts etc.

©2012 Kell Rowe www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Fuji Realia 100iso

The pictures of native hibiscus here, have simply been processed by Fuji c41 then scanned as jpgs (I know, TIFs would’ve been better but I was restricted by the Fuji  machine’s settings ho-hum). Unfortunately, I think it’s over-sharpened a little, but I’m loving the nice true to life colours.

©2012 Kell Rowe www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Native hibiscus

I quite like the ‘straight out of camera shots’, but I thought I’d also have a little play with some of the development settings in Lightroom.

©2012 Kell Rowe www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

1

©2012 Kell Rowe www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

2

©2012 Kell Rowe www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

3

I think my favourite is #2 which has a blue/yellow processing. Which do you like best? Have you been out shooting film lately too? Tell me about it in the comments.

Kell =)
©2012 Kell Rowe http://www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au
Publication of this post has not been approved for sites other than my WordPress.

Leave a Reply

