Food / Recipes

Fruit ball truffles

I just wanted to share this as it’s such a yummy little snack. 

When I was about 10 or 11, the canteen at my school went on a bit of a health kick. Far from being boring, we had some really delicious treats – frozen orange slices and strawberries, fruit juice icypoles, tofutti (soy icecream) cups, and fruit balls. 

I have no idea what was in the fruit balls other than I remember they tasted a bit orangey and were highly addictive.

Somewhat inspired by Jay posting her vegan protein bar recipe the other day, I decided to try and track down the elusive fruit ball recipe. I think the closest to the mark was this from the WA health dept (which makes perfect sense really given it was a school canteen in WA). 

A cursory glance – Dried apricots hmmm nahhh. Coconut? Certainly not. It seemed I was going to have to take matters into my own hands if I wanted something I’d actually eat. Also, the recipe calls for a food processor. One of these days I’ll learn that a blender is not suitable! I ended up mooshing the fruit together in the blender then smashing everything up in the mortar and pestle so the nuts were small enough. 

Here’s what I ended up using:

  1. ~ half a 250g bag of Trident dates, washed.
  2. ~ half a bag of Freshlife cherry/blueberry/cranberry/pomegranate  dried fruit.
  3. A handful of nuts. I had brazil nuts in the cupboard so I used those. Smash them.
  4. Cinnamon sugar.
  5. Drinking chocolate powder.
  6. Airtight container or snaplock bags. 

Mix everything up in the food processor. If you don’t have one try blending the fruit in small quantities then smash together with the nuts in a mortar and pestle or something.

Roll into small balls about a tsp per ball. 

Dust with cinnamon sugar and chocolate powder/cocoa. Easiest if you throw them in a bag full of the powder and shake it.

Of course you could always roll in nuts or coconut or dip in carob or chocolate.

Refrigerate (in airtight bag/box) to keep them firm

I didn’t take a photo as they’re not all that pretty (my husband called them roo poo) but they do taste very nice! I’ll be making some more to get me through work on Saturday. 

Leave a Reply

