Australian wildflowers / Fine art

Summer wildflowers – Western Australia

Western Australia is well known for its spectacular wildflowers during spring, thousands flock from all over the world to see them. However, there are many types of wildflowers that also bloom during summer (and I suspect, periodically throughout the year too, as so many of our plants are evergreens). 

I don’t think it’s much of a secret that summer and I aren’t terribly fond of each other. I rue being cooped up for days (weeks!) on end due to the heat or unable to photograph due to windy conditions. Who wants to be out in the bush during fire season? Not me! Sadly it means I often miss out on capturing some of the gorgeous natives that flower at this time of the year – various types of banksias , bottlebrush (callistemon) and pea flowers .

Luckily for you, my husband got me out of the house for a Sunday walk recently. This is what I managed to capture before I got told off for stopping every 2 metres and told to put the camera away (sadly, he’s not a photographer). The slideshow is a little fast so feel free to pause it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve done my best to identify the plants using the Florabase.

If you would like a print of any of these pictures, please contact me for options or see this page.  Thanks =)


While I have you, I’d like to show you some of the new items in my Etsy shop:

Banksia - glossy photo pendant with copper bail

Geraldton Wax - metallic photo pendant

New pendants, earrings, and brooches are being regularly added and you now have the option to add a pretty organza ribbon or satin cord to your order.

There is also a range of fine art photographs both in stock or printed to order. They make great gifts for friends overseas!

Matted prints in stock.

Please visit my Etsy shop or Facebook page for more photos of what’s in stock.

One thought on “Summer wildflowers – Western Australia

  1. Pingback: Sunset in a flower « Blackcurrant Photography – Portraiture and fine art photography gifts from Western Australia.

Leave a Reply

