Handmade / Other stuff

DIY camera bag

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Sometimes I just want to grab my camera and go. Maybe to a cafe, the park or out with a friend. I don’t always want to take my big bulky Lowepro bag and all my camera gear.

Before, if I didn’t want to take the big (functional but very hot and bulky) backpack with me, I had to take a smaller Kodak bag as well as my handbag. Kind of annoying and occasionally leaving me open to those heart stopping moments of realising I’ve picked up one bag at the cafe instead of two.

I really love the fancy camera bags you can get these days by places like JoTotes and Janine King, but I’ve never been a big fan of totes or large bags. I really just wanted something a smidge bigger than my camera which would also allow me to throw in my purse, some notepads etc. Something businesslike.

So I decided to make one. Originally, I was going to use a $3 op-shop/thrift store find but after deciding my most precious asset needed a little more love, I picked up a lovely synthetic leather bag at Strandbags for $30 (down from $60).

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

I stopped in at Clark Rubber which is a rubber and foam supply chain here in Western Australia. Much cheaper than buying craft foam at Spotlight. I got a huge sheet of offcut high density foam for just $10. I cut it to size with scissors and then wrapped it in fabric using craft glue (Hubby and I decided superglue may melt or cause a bad reaction with the foam).

So now I have a functional camera bag/handbag with room for all my bits and pieces when I’m just out for the day and want my camera. I made a padded insert for the bottom of the bag and a padded ring to fit around my lens. That secures with elastic (I sealed the ends of the elastic using a lighter to melt it).

I made a big rectangular insert too. My camera doesn’t quite fit with that but it can be used when I just want to protect lenses or something else fragile. Not using velcro or glue means I can replace the inserts when they get yucky and pop new ones in.

© Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au © Kell Rowe 2011 www.blackcurrantphotography.com.au

Very happy with the results! What do you think?

P.S. Had to photograph my old camera as the new one was busy taking the photos…. My everyday D90 has a padded strap so that protects the other side of the camera when it’s in the bag. And of course I use a lens cap usually!

One thought on “DIY camera bag

Leave a Reply

