Australian wildflowers / Flowers & plants

Starlight & gold dust – Native hibiscus.

This plant is one of the prettiest I’ve ever seen. I discovered it when out with friends last Friday, and was so taken with it that I had to go back the next day to take more photographs.

Known as ‘Alyogyne Huegelli’ or Lilac Hibiscus these flowers look a lot like a cross between the tropical hibiscus (hibiscii??) we know and the Morning Glory flower. A little bit of research tells me that these flowers only last one day.

What I found so striking about them were their iridescence. That was pretty hard to capture in a photograph so I’ll do my best to describe it. The flowers themselves are a light purple (like Morning Glory) with a blue tinge. They actually shimmer when the light hits it at various angles… it reminds me of organza. The buds are covered in many little yellow stamen which give them the appearance of being dusted in gold.

If it isn’t toxic (I have no idea), it would be a prefect choice for a child’s fairy garden. It’s completely magical.

Hope you enjoy the photos! Thankyou to Charlie for lending me his 50mm Sigma macro lens.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kell =)

P.S. I’m trying out a new watermark. Do you like it more or less than the other one I was using?

One thought on “Starlight & gold dust – Native hibiscus.

  1. Pingback: Wrapping up August and some news « Blackcurrant Photography – Perth, Australia. Fine art, creative portraiture, nature photography & Australian gifts.

Leave a Reply

